Coming Soon

No events

Newsflash

Please take note.
The RWM and Brethren of the Celtic Lodge E & L 291 would like wish everyone the very best in 2017.
The Brethren of the Celtic Lodge 291 would like to wish all who visit our Web Page a Hundred Thousand Welcomes and we encourage all enquiries.
 
 
if your are looking for a Father, Grand Father, or Family Member, who may have been a Member of the Celtic Lodge E & L 291 or if you would like to join the Celtic Lodge 291 or have an interest in  Freemasonry please Email us and we will try to help your enquiry to Bill Boland PM Lodge Historian at johnross651@outlook.com
 
When we will be welcoming all our usual Brethren and Invited Guests and afterwards to a Harmony in our Thistle Room at Brodie's Close Lawnmarket Edinburgh.
 

Login Form

If you would like to create a log in for this site, please send a mail to secretary@thecelticlodge.org



Visitor Counter


Today:58
Yesterday:68
This Month:1120
This Year:19173
Visits Total:586750

Minutes of C L 291 from 1821 - 1840

                   Minutes of Celtic Lodge E & L291 1821 - 1840                                     

         

Scottish Celtic Man Dressed in his National Royal Stewart Tartan Regalia on top of his Mountain it reminds us of our Scottish National Heritage when the wearing of our Kilt was band.

 

The Celtic Lodge Edinburgh and Leith 296 then changed to 291 on the Roll of Grand Lodge of Scotland.

The first Regular meeting of the Lodge Celtic was held on 22nd May 1821 in Old Freemason’s Hall in the Cowgate. St Cecilia’s Hall Dates back to 1763.

The emblem chosen by the Celtic Lodge Brethren was the Celtic Kilted Man in his Royal Stewart Tartan Grab.

StCeciliasHall.jpg  Designed by Robert Mylne the light shines brightly through its oval glass dome.  In its lifetime the Hall has been used as a School- Baptist Church- boxing academy and is now home to the University of Edinburgh it holds one of the finest Collections of Keyboards, and in light the beginning of our Freemason’s History. St Cecilia’s hall is steeped in traditional Masonic History.

Royal Coat of Arms of the Kingdom of Scotland  Next to Magdalene Chapel set in a square, the Royal Arms of Scotland.

220px-Maryofguise1  The Arms of Mary Queen of Guise sit above the Arms of Mac Queen can be seen in and around Edinburgh.

 

The Lodge Celtic Edinburgh & Leith No 291 was solemnly constituted by Brother Sir Patrick Walker, Knight Usher of the White Rod for His Majesty in Scotland.

Sir Patrick Walker  On Sir Patrick's Death his Two Sisters held the Post until 1877 when it was incorporated by special Act of Parliament under the Walker Trust. This was the equivalent to England’s Black Rod.

 

Brother Alexander Deuchar's His Majesty's Seal Engraver Bro Alexander was a Member of Marys Chapel Lodge No 1 and an affiliated Member of the Celtic Lodge on the 28th December 1835. See research done on 20th 10 2013. By Bro JR Boland PM Historian.

22nd May 1821

The First story Masons at work.

Temple of Solomon  Our ancient Brethren follow in the path of Freemasonry we explore the Eye hidden mysteries of our Science and in our search down the many paths of life, we follow the mystic signs tokens and words of our past Brethren, the:-

Horuis Ra  Eye of Horus right Eye of the God Horus and Ra the Sun God, who rises in the East and sets in the West, left Eye equals the Moon the Lunar Eye of Horus, the Moon follows in its own orbit and crosses over its path from night into day and in times when our lord performed many miracles down through the ages, it plays an important part in our search for the hidden mysteries of life and from the plans from King Solomon's building of the sacred Temple, the skilful Masons follow the working plans to create the inner sanctum and the erection of the Temple with the magnificent Kings Solomon's Chair which is still used in our Masonic Lodges today. Every 10 years you can see some reading into the understanding of a Mason at Work. (CR by WJRB).

001.jpg  Brother John Ferney was installed as the First Right Worshipful Master of the Lodge Celtic, and with his senior and Junior Wardens and other Office Bearers for the ensuing year May 1821 - December 1821.

 

 RWM                                      John Ferney                             
 Depute Master Alexander Brand
 Substitute Master John Douglas
 Senior Warden Alexander Mc Knight
 Junior Warden William Grant
 Treasurer William Swanston
 Secretary Peter Farquharson
 Senior Deacon John Taylor
 Junior Deacon George M Knight
 Bible Bearer William Petrie
 Grand Steward George Buchanan
 1st Standard Bearer John Wright
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David Budge
 Tyler Kenneth McKenzie

 

22nd May 1821 

Clan Stewart Crest Badge  Mr Alexander Stewart a Spirit Merchant, 188 Cowgate a respectable Highlander of the Stewart Clan was the First Candidate that petitioned for the Honour of Initiation in the Lodge Celtic.

Stwerat of Appin  Mr Alexander Stewart was proposed and Approved was then Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

The Lodge was closed in due form, By RWM John Ferny. 

Clan Sterwat Tartan  The Brethren retired to the Harmony Hall, the stewards had prepared refreshments and sandwiches, and in the best Scottish tradition a few Glasses of the amber nectar Glenlivet Whisky and some bottles of Wine generously supplied by our newly Raised Brother Alexander Stewart.

In who's House on the 20th April 1821. The petitioners of the Lodge Celtic held a meeting being actuated by a strong desire to promote the interests of Masonry in Scotland. It May be said that Glenlivet Whiskey is a very pleasant Dram but at the time it was supplied to our ancient Brethren.

It came from the Glenlivet Estate at a time when there was no control or levy on the Whiskey. An Illicit Still. See a later report in our History. Bro Bill. 

 

Cowgate arch

Bro Alexander's House was about 150 yards down from the Cowgate Arch Bridge at 118 Cowgate and today is the Siglo Bar and Burlesque Musical Pub in the Canongate Edinburgh. I wonder what our past Brethren would have thought.

 

The Lodge Celtic incorporated in their Bye Laws that all Members be Clothed in the Ancient Royal Stewart Tartan at their own expense at a cost of between £40 to 50 Pounds Sterling, that appears from their clothiers account.

The Lodge Celtic was much admired for their colourful Scottish Highland Grab.

 

Form what they trust is a powerful motion in the breast of every Scotsman to promote the wearing of the Tartan the native and Ancient Costume of our fore Fathers who spilled their blood so Scotland could be free.

 

The minutes between 1821 to 1827 are missing we know how the early years can be true from some records held by The Grand Lodge of Scotland and from evidence from later Committee Minutes.

 

22nd May 1821

melvilles-monument  The Foundation Stone for the Melville Monument was laid with Full Masonic Honours on the 28th April 1821. The Foundation Stone was laid in the centre of St Andrews Square and was erected in 1823 in memory of Henry Dundas the Viscount Melville otherwise known as the Uncrowned King Henry the 9th of Scotland.

 

The Melville Monument was modelled on Trajan's Column in Rome. Edinburgh's Monument to Henry Dundas, First Viscount Melville who was the key factor in the encouragement of the Scottish Enlightenment and was Designed by William Burn 1789-1870 and stands 42.6m high and weighs 1500 Tons and constructed in Cullalo stone.

The foundations of the column and its dimensions were finalised by Robert Stevenson 1772-1850 who was the Grandfather of Robert Louis Stevenson who also supervised its erection. Melville (1742 - 1811) was a Scottish lawyer and politician. At various times he held office as Solicitor General for Scotland, Secretary of State for the Home Department, War Secretary and First Lord of the Admiralty.

In 1806 he was impeached for misappropriation of public funds — in fact he was last person to be impeached in Britain — but was acquitted.

Residents of the St Andrew Square expressed concern about the foundations being strong enough to support a column of such height and Stevenson was brought in to confirm the dimensions and foundation details.

The statue of Melville was added in 1828, adding 8m to the monument's overall height. It was made by Francis Chantrey and Robert Forrest, and is placed in such a way that it faces away from Holyrood Palace, apparently in response to Melville's having been offended by the King.


22nd May 1821

Various 28 07 2013 022  Brother Alexander McKnight presented the Lodge with a Superb Silver Mounted Snuff-horn as a Mark of his respect as one of the Original Founders and present Senior Warden, the Snuff- horn has a Silver Collar with a fantastic Scottish Cairngorm Stone and is still in the possession of the Celtic Lodge it holds pride of place and is still used to-day if you what to try the Snuff it is a little dull by the sands of time, but once was passed around at the Harmony and has been shared by Brethren from all walks of life, from the Sceptre to the Trowel. Bro Bill Boland 19/06/2012

 

22nd May 1821

Mr Alexander Stewart a Spirit Merchant of 188 Cowgate Edinburgh was our First Candidate, and was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. Brother Stewart was installed in the Chair of King Solomon in 1829 and was the Right Worshipful Master until 1831.

5th June 1821

The RWM Bro John Ferney opened the Lodge in due form. The Following Brethren were admitted Members of the Celtic Lodge:-

5th Jun 1821 Brother Donald McKenzie Full Member.

5th Jun 1821 Brother Donald Morrison Full Member.

5th Jun 1821 Brother William Murray Full Member.

5th Jun 1821 Brother William McKenzie Full Members.

At the Harmony the Celtic Brethren welcomed all the new Members

8th June 1821

Being recommended and Approved the Following became Members of the Lodge:-

Mr William Innes and Mr George Sutherland were both Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

Thereafter Brother Donald McKenzie was made a Full Member of the Lodge.

14th June 1821

King Badi VII of Sennar surrenders his Throne and realm to:-

Ismha   Ismail Pasha a General of the Ottoman Empire, ending the existence of the Sudanese Kingdom.

15th June 1821

Mr Thomas Gray and Mr Thomas McNeil were both Approved and Entered, Passed and Raised, to The Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

19th June 1821

The Lodge being was opened by the RWM.

Mr John Leslie was Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.

29th June 1821

Mr Robert Turnbull was Approved then Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason.

 

1st July 1821 King George IV

Sir Walter Scott the 1st Baron FRSE, 15th August 1771-21st September 1832 Historical Novelist, Playwright and Poet. Writer at the Signet Library Edinburgh

Brother Scott was Entered, Passed and Raised a Master Mason in St David's Lodge No 36.

250px-Sir Walter Scott - Raeburn Brother Sir Walter Scott organisation of the King's visit, with the inclusion of Plaid Pageantry that was to have a lasting influence, by elevating the Tartan Kilt become part of Scotland's National Identity. in July 1822 the King placed his order with George Hunter & Company, Outfitters of Token house Yard London and Princes Street Edinburgh for £1,354 18s (a sum equivalent to £110,000 today)

The Highland outfit was in bright Red Royal Tartan later known as Royal Stewart complete with Gold Chains and assorted weaponry including Dirk, Sword and Pistols. Sir Walter Scott brought the Highland societies and the Clan Chieftains into arranging for a Plaid Pageantry.

Garth now drilled the younger members of the Celtic Society into four companies as honour guards.

Scott took the advice of his friend the young actor-manager William Henry Murray whose talents at theatrical scenery and costume were put to good use in creating the settings and the "revived ancient dresses" for the pageants he arranged. Holyrood Palace had to be readied for state occasions, but was not in fit condition as a royal residence and arrangements were made for the King to stay at Dalkeith House 7 miles (11 km) from Edinburgh.

alt King George IV looking very handsome dressed in the Scottish Highland Grab.

 

10th July 1821

The Lodge was duly opened by the RWM.

Mr John Downie was approved and was Entered Apprentice the Brethren retired to the Harmony Hall. 

19th July 1821

220px-George IV Coronation of King George IV, who had become King after his father died one year earlier.  King George III George William Frederick; 4th June 1738 to 29th January 1820 was King of Great Britain and Ireland from 25th October 1760 until the Union of both countries on 1st January 1801. Under King George III reign a number of Military Conflicts occurred, the Seven years' War, American War of Independence Napoleonic War and the Battle of Waterloo. 

 

In the later part of his life, George III suffered from recurrent and eventually permanent mental illness and a blood disease Porphyries and he died on 29th January 1820 age 81. The Prince of Wales and Prince Regent succeeded as King George IV, His coronation on 19th July 1821.

31st August 1821

Mr Duncan McDonald and Mr Robert Stewart were both recommended and approved in open Lodge then entered, passed and raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

4th September 1821

The Lodge was opened in due from the following were approved:-

4th Sep 1821 Mr Alexander Cuthbertson-Mr James Menzies- Mr James McKenzie-Mr William Stewart

4th Sep 1821 Mr James Wordie and on the 6th, 7th, 10th and 11th September 1821 the Following were approved:-

6th Sep 1821

Mr Charles Cuthbertson was entered, passed and raised

7th September 1821

Mr David Leckie was entered, passed and raised

10th Sep 1821

Mr Duncan McPherson was passed and raised

10th Sep 1821

Mr Robert McKay was entered, passed and raised

All were entered, passed and raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

1821

George Heriot  Heriot-Watt University Established. The name commemorates George Heriot the 16th Century financier to King James, and

James Watt James Watt was the great 18th century Inventor and Engineer and noted at the School of Arts and Mechanics Institute. The University received its Charter in 1966. 

18th September 1821

The Lodge met when the Following Brethren became Honorary Members of the Lodge:-

18th Sep 1821 Brother William Aitken Hon and Full Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother A Bell Honorary Member 

18th Sep 1821 Brother Dr Buchanan Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother John Boad Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother William Dobie Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother William Elder Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother Alexander Ferney Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother Malcolm Fraser Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother Neil Johnstone Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother William Lindsay Honorary Member

Mary Chapel-1  18th Sep 1821 Brother Thomas Muir RWM Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1   Full Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother Joseph Paxton Honorary Member

18th Sep 1821 Brother J Stewart Honorary Member

All Brethren took their oath and were given hearty warm welcome by the Celtic Lodge Brethren.

23rd September 1821

Seige of Triop  Greek War of Independence: Siege of Tripoli's ended when the Greek rebels massacre all 35,000 Turkish and Jewish Inhabitants of Tripoli Greece.

1821.

The Royal Scottish Society of Arts was established by:-

David-Brewster Sir David Brewster which was founded in 1821 as 'The Society for the Encouragement of the Useful Arts in Scotland' and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1841.

It was concerned with the fields that we would now describe as science, technology, engineering and manufacture, but which were then known as the useful arts, as opposed to the fine arts, in of the Society, and its meetings were the focus of a large and active cross-section of Edinburgh society - academics, gentry, professionals such as civil engineers and lawyers, and skilled craftsmen such as instrument makers, engravers and printers.

The Society's published Transactions provide a fascinating record of changes in technology, and the Society's extensive archive (publicly accessible in the National Library of Scotland is a valuable resource used by researchers. 

2nd, 9th, 11th, 23rd and 30th October 1821.

The Following were Recommended and Approved in Open Lodge:-

2nd Oct 1821 Mr Charles Thompson entered passed and raised.

9th Oct 1821 Mr George G Bruce entered passed and raised.

11Th Oct 1821 Mr George Brander entered passed and raised.

16th Oct 1821 Mr Adam Elphinstone entered passed and raised.

23rd Oct 1821 Mr Hugh Anderson entered passed and raised.

23rd Oct 1821 Mr Alexander Mason entered passed and raised.

23rd Oct 1821 Mr James Turnbull entered passed and raised.

23rd Oct 1821 Mr J G Whittle entered passed and raised.

30th Oct 1821 Mr James Fraser entered passed and raised.

30th Oct 1821 Brother William Gullan Honorary Member

30th Oct 1821 Brother Lachlan McLachlan RWM of the New Kilwinning Lodge Edinburgh was made a Full Member.

They all took their oaths in the Lodge and were welcomed by the Brethren.  

                                                                                                                

1821

The Nor’ Loch west of the Mound.

Was drained and planted with trees and shrubs. In the 16th century the country was obsessed with Witchcraft and the Nor' Loch proved a perfect spot for 'Trial by Douking' (Ducking). 

This would consist of a suspected witch having her thumbs and toes tied together and ducked on a specially designed 'stool' twice into the Loch. If she sank and drowned she would be found innocent....but dead! But if she was unfortunate enough to float and survive drowning she would be found guilty and burned at the stake on Castle Hill.

Douking Stool.

 

King James III ordered that the ground between the Old Town and Princes Street be flooded in an effort to strengthen the Castle's northern defences. 

Over the years however it became a convenient dump for all sorts of waste including human excrement in the days before proper sanitation and over the years it became a stinking cess-pool.

The decision was taken to drain the Loch in 1759 around the same time of the building of the New Town to the north, and Princes Street Gardens was established in 1820s.

7th, 12th, 13th, 19th, 20th, 22nd November 1821 the Following were Entered, Passed and Raised, or made Full Members or Hon Members:-

7th Nov 1821 Mr Archibald Fraser entered passed and raised.

7th Nov 1821 Mr Donald McFarquhar entered passed and raised.

7th Nov 1821 Brother Alexander Robertson Hon/Member

7th Nov 1821 Mr James Robertson entered passed and raised.

12th Nov 1821 Mr John L Cameron entered passed and raised.

13th Nov 1821 Mr John Rodger entered passed and raised.

19th Nov 1821 Mr James Dickson entered.

20th Nov 1821 Mr Robert Noble entered passed and raised.

alt  22nd Nov 1821 Brother David Christie RWM St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh made a Full Member

Mary Chapel-1 22nd Nov 1821 Brother David Doig SW Mary's Chapel No 1 Edinburgh made a Full Member

Portobello Lodge 226 22nd Nov 1821 Brother Archibald Douglas RWM Fisherrow Portobello Full Member

22nd Nov 1821 Brother William Kenmouth Hon/Member

22nd Nov 1821 Brother James Laing Lieu Hon/Member

22nd Nov 1821 Brother Colin J McDonald Hon/Member

22nd Nov 1821 Brother William McCombie Hon/Member

22nd Nov 1821 Brother Thomas McFarlane Hon/Member

St Stephens No 145  22nd Nov 1821 Brother George Pluttie RWM St Stephens Lodge Edinburgh Full Member

All Brethren took their Oath. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

6th December 1821

In this year South Orkney Islands in the Southern Ocean and North East of the Antarctic Peninsula was discovered By George Powell and Nathaniel Palmer.

 

7th December 1821

This being the Month of election of Office Bearers the RWM asked for Nominations to be put forward to the General Committee.

 

Over the next month the following were recommended to be Members:-

7th Dec 1821 Mr James Grieve entered passed and raised

10th Dec 1821 Brother Peter Duff Hon/Member

10th Dec 1821 Mr Robert Goldie entered passed and raised

12th Dec 1821 Mr Peter Hay entered passed and raised

12th Dec 1821 Brother Kenneth McKenzie Hon/Member

12th Dec 1821 Brother William Mowah Hon/Member

14th Dec 1821 Mr John Nicol entered passed and raised

18th Dec 1821 Brother Duncan McFarlane Hon/Member

25th Dec 1821 Mr Robert Ross entered passed and raised

The above Brethren took their Oaths of their Degrees in the Lodge.

 

27th December 1821

001.jpg  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1821-1822 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      John Ferney                             

 Depute Master

 Past Master

Alexander Brand

Robert Ross Junior

 Substitute Master Colin J McDonald
 Senior Warden Alexander Mc Knight
 Junior Warden Peter Farquharson
 Treasurer William Swanston
 Secretary George Sutherland
 Senior Deacon Thomas McNice
 Junior Deacon Donald McKenzie
 Bible Bearer James Wordie
 Grand Steward George Buchanan
 1st Standard Bearer John Wright
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David Budge
 Tyler Kenneth McKenzie

 

 

The Year 1822 (MDCCCXXII)

Gregorian Calendar  Was a common year starting on Tuesday (A Link will display the full Calendar) of the Gregorian Calendar and a common year starting on Sunday of the 12th Day a slower Julian Calendar.


7th Jan 1822 Brother Alexander Clerk Hon/Member


10th Jan 1822.

Princess Street 53 gas lanterns were installed, these replaced 79 oil lamps.


16th, 17th, 22nd, 29th January 1822

The Following became Members of the Lodge:-

16th 1822 Jan Mr Hugh Falconer was entered, passed and raised.

16th Jan 1822 Mr James McGlarham was entered, passed and raised.

17th Jan 1822 Brother Richard Benson Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother John Davie Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother William Masson Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother Hugh Morrison Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother Thomas Summerville Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother J Thomson Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother Walter Vallance Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother William Willis Hon/Member.

17th Jan 1822 Brother William Masson Hon/Member

17th Jan 1822 Brother Hugh Morrison Hon.

22nd Jan 1822 Mr Robert Hogg was entered, passed and raised.

22nd Jan 1822 Mr Lachlan McPherson was entered, passed and raised

29th Jan 1822 Mr Andrew Carfrae was entered, passed and raised.

 

5th Feb 1822 Mr Richard Simpson entered passed and raised

 

6th February 1822

Tek  Junk  A Chinese Junk Tek Sing sinks the ship was bound for Batavia, People's Republic of China in the South China Sea. The Dutch East Indies Ship was laden with a large Cargo of Porcelain goods and with 1,600 Chinese immigrants and 200 Crew on Board. There was a great loss of life in this disaster.

 

13th February 1822

Through to the 24th April 1822

The Following Became Members of the Lodge:-

13th Feb 1822 Mr Joseph Alston entered passed and raised.

19th Feb 1822 Mr William Davidson entered passed and raised

28th Feb 1822 Brother John Anderson Hon/Member

1st Mar 1822 Mr John Anderson Junior entered passed and raised

15th Mar 1822 Mr Robert Moffat entered passed and raised

19th Mar 1822 Mr Alexander Calder entered passed and raised

22nd Mar 1822 Mr George Wilson entered passed and raised

2nd Apr 1822 Mr John Robertson entered passed and raised

18th Apr 1822 Mr John Crearer entered passed and raised

18th Apr 1822 Mr John Sang EP and Raised

 42nd Regiment 2 23rd Apr 1822 Brother P Grant Sgt 42nd Regiment Hon/Member

23rd Apr 1822 Mr James Gray entered passed and raised

23rd Apr 1822 Brother William Leitch 42nd Regiment Hon/ Member

23rd Apr 1822 Mr Eugin McGregor entered passed and raised

23rd Apr 1822 Mr James McPherson entered passed and raised

23rd Apr 1822Brother Alexander Ross was passed and raised

24th Apr 1822 Mr David Leitch was entered

24th Apr 1822 Mr William Nealson EP and Raised

24th Apr 1822 Mr Robert Tully EP and Raised

 

May 1822 to 1824

Thomas Young  Mr Thomas Young and:-

Jean Francois Champollion  Jean-Francois Champollion they were responsible for deciphering Hieroglyphs using the Rosetta stone.

 

14th May 1822

Mr Hugh McKay was entered passed and raised

 

26th May 1822

On Pentecost the church was filled to capacity. It was a bright and hot day early in the summer. In the middle of the sermon that was preached by the vicar Iver Hesselbeg a fire broke out on the outer wall of the southern transept and within 10–15 minutes the church was completely engulfed and was burnt to the ground.


Evacuation was hampered by the way the doors had been constructed, and Panic arose inside the church where everyone fought each other to escape. The official death count is 113 however the figures 116 and 117 are also mentioned.

Among the people who were incinerated there were a mere 7 adult men. At least 45 of the fatalities were children under 16 years. Many were trapped in the stairs coming down from the galleries, where the unmarried women used to sit, 116 People died in the Church Fire the biggest Fire disaster in Norway's History.

 

28th May 1822 Mr John McLeod was entered passed and raised

6th June 1822 Mr Donald Farquhar was entered passed and aised

6th June 1822 Mr John White was entered passed and raised

6th June 1822

Alexis St Martin  Alexis St Martin 18th April 1802-24th June 1822, was a Canadian voyageur, who is known for his part in experiments on digestion in Humans, conducted by the American physician William Beaumont between 1822 and 1833.

When on the 6th June 1822 Alexis St Martin, at a trading post on Mackinaw Island, was accidentally shot with a Musket at close range. The charge of musket shot left a Hole through his side that healed from a Fistula aperture into his stomach. US Army Surgeon William Beaumont, stationed at a nearby army post treated the wound.

 

1st July 1822 Mr John Farquharson was entered passed and raised

17th July 1822 Brother George Adam Anderson Hon/Member

5th Aug 1822 Mr John Clyne was entered passed and aised

7th Aug 1822 Mr John Mc Farquhar was entered passed and raised

8th Aug 1822 Mr Murdoch McLean was entered passed and raised

 

14th Aug 1822.

National Monument The foundation stone was laid during King George IV visit to Scotland.

 

 The 1822 visit of King George IV to Scotland was the first visit of a reigning monarch to Scotland since 1650. Government ministers had pressed the King to bring forward a proposed visit to Scotland, to divert him from diplomatic intrigue at the Congress of Verona.

However, it was Sir Walter Scott's organisation of the visit, with the inclusion of plaited pageantry that was to have a lasting influence, by elevating the Tartan Kilt to become part of Scotland's National identity. 

After a decade of ruling as Prince Regent, George IV acceded to the throne and his coronation on 19 July 1821.

Sir Walter Scott 3  Sir Walter Scott was author of the novel Waverley, which popularised a romantic image of the Scottish Highlands. In 1815 this led to his being invited to dine with George, who was then the Prince Regent.

By 1822 Scott had become a Baronet, and was well acquainted with both Highland and Lowland nobility.

Kilts and Tartans were used for army uniforms but were no longer ordinary Highland wear, having been proscribed in the wake of the Jacobite Risings by the Dress Act. 

King George 1V 2 King George IV would be presented as a new Jacobite king, with the logic that he was by bloodline as much a Stuart as Bonnie Prince Charlie himself, and would win the affections of the Scots away from radical reform.

 A small committee was set up, with Scott's principal assistant being his friend:-

General David Stewart  Major General David Stewart of Garth who made himself the undisputed authority on Highlanders with his Sketches. Major General David was the founder of the Royal Celtic Society in 1820 together with several other Highland Gentlemen. The First meeting took place at Oman's Tavern. Sir Walter Scott was a member and the Society played an important part in the Scottish enlightenment days also known as the Athens of the North. The Celtic Lodge 291 had Two Celtic Society Flags, lost in the annuals of time which we would like to have copies made.

 

King George had been persuaded by Scott that he was not only a Stuart prince, but also a Jacobite Highlander, and could rightly and properly swathe himself in "the garb of old Celt.

In July 1822 the King placed his order for a new Highland outfit in bright Red Royal Tartan, later known as Royal Stuart, complete with gold chains and assorted weaponry including Dirk, Sword and Pistols.

 

14th Aug 1822.

National Monument Edin  National Monument. The foundation stone was laid during King George IV.
The National Monument was designed by:-

Charles Cockerell   Charles Cockerell and:-

William Playfair  William Playfair they were inspired by the Parthenon in Athens it was intended to commemorate Scottish servicemen who died in the Napoleonic War and funds for its construction were raised by a public appeal. Work started in August 1822, but only the twelve columns we see today were ever completed.

 

On Saturday afternoon, 17th August 1822 the King attended a short levee at Holyrood Palace, where the great and good queued to be greeted by King George IV in his Highland outfit.

 

On Friday 23rd August 1822 a review of 3,000 volunteer Cavalrymen was held on Portobello Sands. The King was also to Honour the Clans including a continent from the Celtic Society of Edinburgh.

 

24th August 1822

Saturday Morning was marked by a small ceremony and procession including a:-

Clan McGregor  Clan McGregor Regalia Guard, as the Honours of Scotland where returned from Holyrood and up the Royal Mile to the Castle.

 

26th Aug 1822 Mr Duncan Robertson EP and Raised

26th Aug 1822 Mr Daniel Sutherland EP and Raised

The Celtic Brethren welcomed all the new Members.

 

19th September 1822 the Lodge was opened in due from by RWM. 

19th September1822 Mr William Muir was Approved then EP and Raised

14th November 1822 Mr William Neilson was EP and Raised

17th November 1822 Mr Archibald Fraser EP and Raised

9th December 1822 Brother Alexander Wright Hon/Member

 

27th December 1822

001.jpg  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1822-1823 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      John Ferney                             

 Depute Master

 Past Master

Donald McKenzie

Robert Ross

 Substitute Master Thomas McNeil
 Senior Warden Alexander Stewart
 Junior Warden John McFarquhar
 Treasurer William Swanston
 Secretary George Wilson
 Senior Deacon David Leckie
 Junior Deacon Duncan McDonald
 Chaplain James Menzies
 Grand Steward George Buchanan
 1st Standard Bearer John Wright
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David McKay
 Tyler William McKay

 

January 1823

Paviland Cave the red lady of Paviland Cave  In Paviland Cave (Goat's Hole) on the Gower Peninsula of Wales, William Buckland discovered the Red Lady of Paviland, The first identification of a prehistoric Male Human burial. 

 

2nd January 1823 to 29th December 1823.The Following Brethren were recommended and Approved in Open Lodge:-

2nd Jan 1823 Mr William Elder a Boot and Shoe Maker Park Lane was entered.

28th Jan 1823 Mr Josiah Richardson EP and Raised

28th Jan 1823 Mr James Simpson EP and Raised

19th Feb 1823 Mr John Clark Entered.

 

20th Feb 1823

James Weddell  Explorer James Weddell's Expedition to Antarctica reaches Latitude 74 Degrees 15' South and Longitude 34Degreegs 16'45" West the southernmost position of any ship had reached before, a record that will hold for 80 years.

 

24th Feb 1823 Brother Thomas Mitchell Hon/Member

24th Feb 1823 Brother Alexander McKenzie Hon/Member

24th Feb 1823 Mr Thomas McPherson EP and Raised

24th Feb 1823 Mr Robert Thomson EP and Raised

28th Mar 1823 Brother William McKay Hon/Member

 

13th April 1823

Franz List Musician  Eleven year old Franz List gives a Concert after which he was personally congratulated by:-

 Ludwig Van Beethoven Ludwig Van Beethoven.

 

23rd Apr 1823

The Lodge was opened in due form by the RWM the Following became Members of the Lodge:-

23rd Apr 1823 Mr James Donald a Taylor was EP and Raised

23rd Apr 1823 Mr William Forrester a Taylor was EP and Raised

42nd Regiment 2  23rd Apr 1823 Brother William Leitch of 42nd Regiment Hon/Member 

23rd Apr 1823 Mr William McKenzie of the 42nd Regiment was EP and Raised

23rd Apr 1823 Mr William Ross of the 42nd Regiment was EP and Raised

23rd Apr 1823 J Smith Entered

23rd Apr 1823 Brother Robert Smith of the 42nd Regiment Hon/Member

24th Apr 1823 Brother Daniel McKay a Painter Hon/Member

24th Apr 1823 Brother George Oall of the 42nd Regiment Hon/Member

 

24th Apr 1823

Mr Charles Scott EP and Raised

The Celtic Brethren unanimously welcomed the new Member

 

1st July 1823

220px-Robert Peel Portrait  Sir Robert Peel 1st Baronet ensures the passage of Five Acts of Parliament in the United Kingdom effectively abolished the Death penalty for over One Hundred Offences. In particular, the Judgement of Death Act Allows Judges to commute sentences for Capital Offences other that Murder or Treason to imprisonment or Transportation.

 

16th October 1823 Mr John Young a Jeweller was EP and Raise

23rd October 1823 Mr James Baxter a Spirit Dealer was EP and Raised

23rd October 1823 Mr William Gunn a Painter EP and Raised

23rd October 1823 James Morrison a Baker EP and Raised

23rd October 1823 Brother Robert Nimmo Painter Hon/Member

 

6th November 1823 Mr John Johnstone EP and Raised

6th November 1823 D McNaughton EP and Raised

11th November 1823 Mr William Thomson was EP and Raised

21st November 1823 Brother Alexander Cant Hon/Member

23rd November 1823 Brother David Anderson Hon/Member

25th November 1823 Mr John Blair was EP and Raised 

25th November 1823 Brother David Gunn Hon/member

25th November 1823 Mr Thomas Murray Entered

28th November 1823 Mr James Bishop was EP and Raised

28th November 1823 Brother William McKay Hon/Member

 

1st December 1823 Brother James Fernie Hon/Member

1st December 1823 Brother Peter McLeod Hon/Member

1st December 1823 Brother McKenzie Hon/Member

2nd December 1823 Mr James Rattray was EP and Raised

27th December 1823 Brother William Forrester Hon/Member

29th December 1823 Mr James Hay a Spirit Dealer EP and Raised

29th December 1823

alt  Brother John Mathison of St Mungo's Lodge Glasgow was made a Full Member All the above were given a warm welcome in to the Celtic Lodge by the Brethren.

 

29th December 1823

More Lodge Photos 053  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1823-1824 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      John Ferney                             

 Depute Master

 Past Master

John Clyne

George Wilson

 Substitute Master James Menzies
 Senior Warden Alexander Elphingstone
 Junior Warden Neil Johnston
 Treasurer Alexander Stewart
 Secretary Thomas Mitchell
 Senior Deacon James Bishop
 Junior Deacon Archibald Fraser
 Chaplain William Gunn
 Grand Steward George Buchanan
 1st Standard Bearer John Wright
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David McKay
 Tyler William McKay

 

 

8th January 1824 after much controversy:-

Michael Faraday  Michael Faraday is finally elected as a Member of the Royal Society with only one vote against Him.


9th January 1824-31st December 1824

In this Year the Following became Members of the Lodge:-

13th January 1824 Mr George Laurie EP and Raised

13th January 1824 Mr John Pollock was EP and Raised

17th January 1824 Mr Archibald Menzies EP and Raised

17th January 1824 Mr S W Waterstone was EP and Raised

 

May 1824.

The Botanic Gardens  New Botanic Gardens opened At Inverleith Row, replacing the Royal Botanic Garden, Leith Walk. "The Botanic", the new site was opened in May 1824, comprising a large and varied set of gardens or parks with a wide range of plants, from around the world, in the open and in greenhouses. There is a Chinese themed garden.

 

16th June 1824

RSPCA 1824  The Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals was established in Great Britain.

 

7th September 1824 Mr David Ferguson EP and Raised

7th September 1824 Mr James Small was EP and Raised

7th October 1824 Mr Hugh Small was EP and Raised

8th November 1824 Mr William Smith was EP and Raised

 

15th Nov 1824

Tron Church Edinburgh 1824  The most disastrous Fire in the History in the City of Edinburgh broke out destroying many houses in the High Street of the Tron Church and Cowgate. 400 families were made homeless.

 

24th November 1824 Mr George Scott was EP and Raised

17th December1824 Mr Alexander McKerrachen a Grocer in the Grassmarket was passed to the Second Degree.

28th December 1824 Mr Adam Johnston EP and Raised

28th December 1824 Mr James Wilson was EP and Raised

 

29th December 1824

001.jpg  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1824-1825 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      Richard Simpson                           

 Depute Master

 Past Master

Alexander McKenzie

John Ferney

 Substitute Master D McFarlane
 Senior Warden Thomas Mitchell
 Junior Warden J Richardson
 Treasurer Alexander Stewart
 Secretary Daniel Taylor
 Senior Deacon Charles Scott
 Junior Deacon Daniel Sutherland
 Chaplain William Gunn
 Grand Steward James Stewart
 1st Standard Bearer John Wright
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David McKay
 Tyler William McKay

 

1st January 1825

This evening the Lodge being duly constituted in due from the RWM proposed the following Brethren they were recommended and approved then made Members of the Lodge:-

 

3rd January1825 Mr Davidson Davie EP and Raised

11th January 1825 Mr William Brown Tavern Keeper was EP and Raised

11th January 1825 Brother William Gordon Hon/Member

11th January 1825 Mr Andrew Laurie a Baker EP and Raised

11th January 1825 Mr James Sutherland a Builder was EP and Raised

13th January 1825 Thomas Simpson was EP and Raised

13th January 1825 Mr Cornelius Sherry was EP and Raised

13th January 1825 Mr George Stark was EP and Raised

22nd January 1825 Mr Thomas Brown was EP and Raised 

22nd January 1825 Mr Alexander McNaughton EP and Raised

22nd January 1825 Alexander McKay EP and Raised

27th January 1825 Brother Jams Charles Candle maker Hon/Member  

27th January 1825 Brother William Christie Painter Hon/Member

 

28th January 1825

Brother Alexander Henderson Rt Hon Lord Provost of Edinburgh was made a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge.

Brother Henderson was one of the First Directors of Union Insurance Company and Founder of the National Bank of Scotland in 1918 the Bank was bought by Lloyds Bank, 1959 Merged with Commercial Bank of Scotland.

Then Ten years later Merged with:-

Bank of Scotland  Royal Bank of Scotland, Headquarters in St Andrew's Square Edinburgh. The first Governor was the Duke of Roxburgh.

 

1st February 1825

 Thistle and Rose No 73 Brother Alexander Kennedy RWM Thistle Rose Lodge Glasgow was made a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge.

1st February 1825

alt  Brother John McKechnie of St Mungo's Lodge Glasgow was made a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge.

1st February 1825

Brother William Rae Treasurer of St Mungo's Lodge Glasgow was made a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge.

7th February 1825

Mr William Burns was EP and Raised

Mr James Stewart was EP and Raised

 

19th February 1825

Mr David Low was EP and Raised

Mr James Summerville was EPR 19th February 1825 Mr John Surgeon was EP and Raised

 

22nd February 1825

Mr Alexander McKenzie EP and Raised

26th March 1825

Mr John McFarlane (Bathling MacKie of Portobello) EP and Raised 

 

30th March 1825

Mr Daniel G Stewart was EP and Raised

 

8th April 1825

Brother Roderick McDonald Hon/Member

 

14th April 1825

Brother Dr Black of the High Street Edinburgh was made a Hon/Member

Brother James Blair of the High Street Edinburgh was Made Hon/Member

Mr John Cowan Entered

 

Brother James Hunter a Sheriff Officer in Edinburgh Hon/Member

Brother J King a Tavern Keeper Hon/Member

Mr James McKay EP and Raised

Tally Ho Pub  Brother J McQueen of the Tally-ho Public House Winchburgh Linlithgowshire Hon/Member

Mr William Sutherland was EP and Raised

Brother A Trotter a Book Maker Hon/ Member

 

2nd May 1825

Brother Francis Wood Hon/Member

 

11th July 1825

Mr Daniel McLaren was EP and Raised

 

27th July 1825

Mr James Robertson was entered

Mr George Sanderson was EP and Raised

 

28th July 1825.

Royal High School  The Royal High School The foundation stone was laid with Masonic honours. 

 

18th August 1825

George MacGregor issues a £300,000 loan with 2.5% interest through the London Bank of Thomas Jenkins & Company. His actions lead to the Panic of 1825.

First modern stock market crash happened in London and started in the Bank of England arising in part out of speculative investments in Latin America including the imaginary country of Poyais.

 

5th September 1825

Mr William Ogston a Mariner was EP and Raised

Mr George Ogston a Mariner was EP and Raised

 

15th September 1825

Mr James Burns of the Canongate was EP and Raised

Mr Thomas Cunningham of the Cowgate EP and Raised

 

Mr John McIntosh Sergeant Foot Guards was EP and Raised

Mr David McKenzie Sergeant Foot Guards was EP and Raised

 

22nd September 1825

Mr James Sutherland was EP and Raised

 

28th September 1825

Mr John Burnett was EP and Raised 

Mr Thomas Cunningham EP and Raised

Mr John Johnstone EP and Raised

 

20th October 1825

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Brother Stanley of Roman Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

 

21st October 1825

PS Comet II  The PS Comet II Sinks off the Coast off Gourock with the Loss of 62 Lives, of the 80 passengers on board, including the Son-in-Law of John Anderson Carpenter. My Jo Friend of Robert Burns and a Character in one of his most touching Burns Songs.

The Ship was the second Ship named after The Paddle Steamer PS Comet, Built for Henry Bell Hotel and Baths Owner in Helensburgh, and began passenger service in 1812 on the River Clyde between Glasgow and Greenock.

 

30th October 1825

Mr Alexander McKay was EP and Raised

 

31st October 1825

Mr David McColl was EP and Raised

 

17th November 1825

St Stephens No 145  Brother John Ballantine of St Stephen's Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

Mary Chapel-1  Brother Brown of St Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1 Edinburgh Hon/Member

vcm s kf repr 98x143  Brother Alexander Forbes of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

Mary Chapel-1  Brother Alexander Giles of Mary's Chapel No 1 Hon/Member

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Brother Luke O'Neil of the Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Brother John Paxton of Defensive Band Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

vcm s kf repr 98x143 Brother James Ross of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh Full Member

 St James Operative 97 Brother Robert Watson of St James Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member

 

30th November 1825

Mr Archibald Campbell Entered Apprentice

 

9th December 1825

vcm s kf repr 98x143 Brother Colin McPherson of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh Hon/Member


29th December 1825

Blazing Star 3  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1825-1826 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      Richard Simpson                           

 Depute Master

 Past Master

J Burns

John Ferney

 Substitute Master D McFarlane
 Senior Warden A Elphinestone
 Junior Warden T Simpson
 Treasurer William Aitken
 Secretary John Wilson
 Senior Deacon John MacKintosh
 Junior Deacon James Burns
 Chaplain James Sutherland
 Grand Steward James Stewart
 Bible Bearer George Stark
 2nd Standard Bearer Jas Robertson
 Inner Guard David McKay
 Tyler William McKay

 

 

1st January 1826 to 31st December 1826

All being recommended the Following were made Members of the Lodge:-

5th January 1826

Mr James Robertson G Milne Square Edinburgh EP-Raised

29th January 1826

Union Club Edinburgh  Mr Robert Honeyman of the Union Club Queens Street Edinburgh EP and Raised

Mr Charles McKie of 9 Roxburgh Terrace Edinburgh was EP and Raised

 

30th January 1826

300px-Menai Suspension Bridge Dec 09  The Menai Suspension Bridge, Built by Engineer, Thomas Telford was opened between the Island of Anglesey and the mainland of Wales.

 

14th February 1826

Mr James Millikin was EP and Raised

Mr Kenneth McKenzie (Terteus) was EP and Raised

Mr Charles Steeples was EP and Raised

Mr George Turnbull was EP and Raised

Mr Thomas Wright was EP and Raised

 

5th March 1826

Mr A Haufman E-P and Raised

 

22nd March 1826

Mr Morris Leon E P and Raised and Later a RWM of the Lodge

Mr Louis Shassar was EP and Raised

 

1st April 1826

Samuel Morey  Samuel Morey Patents the Internal Combustion Engine.

 

The following were recommended and approved Members of the Lodge:-

3rd April 1826

Mr Adam Elphingstone Junior EP and Raised

Mr William MacKie was EP and Raised

17th April 1826

Mr Robert Hay a Brush Maker of Scott Close Edinburgh E-P and Raised

21st April 1826

Brother Robert Jeffrey Hon/Member

Brother Ceraph Leon Hon/Member

Mr Levesay a Sergeant Royal Artillery EP and Raise

 

25th April 1826

Mr James Annan Boot Maker EP and Raised

Mr James Williamson a Grocer at West Port Edinburgh was EP and Raised

 

26th April 1826

Mr William Baillie a Candle Maker was EP and Raised 

 

1st August 1826

Philip Daffie EPR 4th August 1826 Mr David Hook EP and Raised

Brother James Rutherford Entered in another Lodge -P and Raised

 

5th August 1826

Brother Trentham MacKay Hon/Member

 

10th August 1826

Cowes Regatta The First Cowes Regatta is Held on the Isle of Wight. The Festival originates from the Prince Regent's interest in yachting and continued after he became King Georg the IV in 1820.

 

The First race started at 09:30 on Thursday the 10th August 1826 with the Prize of a Gold Cup of the value of £100.00, and was held under the Flag of the Royal Yacht Club, later became the Royal Yacht Squadron.

Another Race was held the next Day for the Prize Money of only £30.00 for First Place and £20.00 for Second.

 

18th September 1826

Mr Neil MacKay a Spirit Dealer in the Cowgate Edinburgh was EP and Raised

18th September 1826 Mr John MacLauchlan a Boatman on the Canal was EP and Raised

 

27th September 1826 

Mr Alexander Galloway a Tailor EP and Raised

Mr Domingo Gowzales of Lady Lawson Wynd Edinburgh EP and Raised

Mr Thomas Horn a Hair Dresser of West Port Edinburgh EP and Raised

Mr Alexander McPherson of Flesh Market Close Edinburgh was EP and Raised

Mr Hyam Samuel was EP and Raised

 

15th December 1826

Mr William Clark a Painter was EP and Raised 

 

23rd December 1826

Mr Durward EP and Raised

Mr William Scott a Grocer in West Port Edinburgh was EP and Raised.

 

24th and 25th December 1826

Eggnog Riot  The Eggnog Riot and sometimes known as the Grog Mutiny, was a Riot that took place at the United States Military Academy at West Point, New York, on the 24th and 25th December 1826.

It was caused by smuggling of Whiskey, two days prior to the incident, to make Eggnog for Christmas Days party in the North barracks of the Academy,

The Riot eventually involved more than one-third of the Cadets by the time it ceased on Christmas morning. A subsequent investigation by the Academy officials resulted in the implication of Seventy Cadets and the Court martial of twenty of the Cadets and one enlisted Soldier.

Among the participants in the Riot, though he was not Court martial was one:-

Jefferson Davis  Jefferson Davis was later President of the Confederates States of America.

 

29th December 1826

Blazing Star 1  Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year 1826-1827 as follows:-

 

 RWM                                      Richard Simpson                           

 Depute Master

 Past Master

William Baillie

John Ferney

 Substitute Master Adam
 Senior Warden James Fraser
 Junior Warden D McLaren
 Treasurer William Christie
 Secretary John Wilson
 Senior Deacon Dominigo Gonzales
 Junior Deacon William Gunn
 Chaplain James Sutherland
 Grand Steward Thomas Horn
 Bible Bearer A McPherson
 2nd Standard Bearer Andrew Lawrie / Baker
 Inner Guard David McKay
 Tyler William McKay

 

30th December 1826

Mr Adam Frey 10 Michael Arthur Place Edinburgh EP and Raised

Brother William Sutherland was made Hon/Member.

The Brethren of the Celtic Lodge gave a warm welcome to all our new Members.

 

1st January 1827 to 31st January 1827 The Brethren were all made Members of the Lodge:-

3rd January 1827 Mr Peter Bennet of Fleshmarket was EP and Raised

3rd January 1827 Brother David Richards of Fishers Close Edinburgh Hon/Member

1st February 1827 Mr John Oswald a Flesher was EP and Raised

10th January 1827 Brother William Aitken Hon/Member

10th January 1827 Mr Lenmore J Cunningham EP and Raised

10th January 1827 Mr Malcolm Robertson was EP and Raised

 

7th March 1827

Ellen Turner 15 year old Heiress of Pott Shrigley was abducted and was forced into Marriage by Edward Gibbon Wakefield, Known as the Shirgley Abduction. 

They were Married in Gretna Green Scotland, and travelled to Calais. Ellen's Father notified the Police they intervened and they were stopped.

The Marriage was annulled by Parliament. Edward and his Brother who aided in the abduction were both sentenced to three years in Prison.

Ellen Married 2 years later at the age of 17 to a wealthy neighbour. 

 

27 May 1827

Sir George Harvey Sco Exh 1827  Scottish Academy First Exhibition consisting of 24 Artists, this began the New Movement.

One of the Founding Fathers was Sir George Harvey 1806 - 1876 Gene and Landscape Painter; President of the Royal Scottish Academy. Annual Exhibitions of the Royal Scottish Academy have been held in the spring of each year since 1827. Sill held to the present day.

Encourage the practice of the Fine Arts in Scotland and showing them to public representative collections of works mainly from Scottish artists of the time.

 

30th July 1827

Mr Thomas Smillie an Engraver was EP and Raised

 

7th August 1827

Mr Alexander Cameron Painter EP and Raised

Brother Alexander MacKay Hon/Member

Mr Thomas Russell was EP and Raised

 

8th August 1827

alt  Mr Patrick a Sergeant Scott's Greys was EP and Raised

 

9th August 1827

Mr Joseph Isaac of 5 Salisbury Street Edinburgh EP and Raised

Mr James Raeburn of 329 Cowgate Edinburgh was EP and Raised

 

16th August 1827

Mr McGoverny was EP and Raised

Mr James Scott of Sanbury Distillery was EP and Raised

Mr John Stanley of the Theatre Royal was EP and Raised

 

Mr John Baxter a Grocer in West Port Edinburgh was EPR

Mr Flesh a Ferrier E 

Mr David Lovine Senior a Ferrier EPR

Mr David Lovine Junior a Ferrier EPR

Mr Adam Wolf was EPR 

 

27th December 1827

 

Minutes 1829 Picture 001  New Minute Book 1827-1843 by Bro Fritz Strathern.

                                                                                                     

27th December 1827-28

The Wallace  The Celtic Lodge met in St Andrews Lodge No 48, at Brodies Close Lawnmarket at 2 o’clock pm.

Extracts from minute book By order of the RWM for the purpose of the electing of Office Bearers for the ensuing Year:-

 

Peter Farquharson                     RWM                          
Richard Simpson IPM
John Fernie DM
James Menzies SM
Rob Menzies SW
James Stewart JW
James Burns Treasurer
Thomas Wright Secretary
James Burns Gen Stew
William Scott SD
Thomas Simpson JD
James Wilson Chaplain
D Robertson Baker

 

12th January 1828

The Committee met this evening for the purpose of auditing the Lodge Books.

When produced they were found to be in such disarranged state that it was deemed expedient to remit them to the former Committee to get them properly arranged.

 

5th September 1828

This Evening the Lodge met and was opened by the RWM Peter Farquharson.

Mr James Malcolm was EP and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The Lodge was closed in due form

 

9th December 1828

This Evening the Lodge was opened for the purpose of holding a convivial meeting when Deputations were received from the following:-

Sister Lodges.

Mary Chapel-1  Lodge St Marys Chapel RWM Brother Giles

alt  Lodge St Andrew's RWM Brother Carmichael

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Defensive Band

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Lodge Roman Eagle RWM Brother Brown

At high Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form by the RWM Peter Farquharson.

 

12th December 1828

This evening the Lodge met and was opened by RWM Brother Peter Farquharson.

Mr Findlay Hay was EP and Raised. The Lodge was closed in due and solemn form.

 

1828.

James Natsmyth  Steam Coach. Was constructed by James Hall Nassmyth it ran between Leith and Queensferry at between 4 and 7 miles per hour.

 

24th December 1828

Burk and Hare   The trial of Burke & Hare murders began at the High Court.

William Burke 1792-1829 and William Hare 1804?.

Burke was convicted of 16 Murders his partner Hare turned Kings Evidence. Burke ran and boarding house along with Helen McDougal.

Hare and Margaret Laird ran a Log's Lodgings in Tanners Close in West Port.

It was reported that they sold their Bodies to a Professor Robert Knox.


William Burke's Body was put on public display in Surgeon's Hall.

 

27th December 1828

By order of the RWM Peter Farquharson, the Lodge met at St Andrew's Lodge Room in Brodie's Close for the purpose of electing the office Bearers for the year 1828-1829 when the following Brethren were unanimously elected.

Jacques de molay  List of Office - Bearers for Ensuing year 1828 - 1829.

 

RWM

Peter Farquharson

Past Master

Adam Elphiston

Substitute Master

Donald McKenzie Depute Master Robert Ross

Senior Warden

Robert Menzies

Junior Warden

Robert Hay

Treasurer

Morris Leon

Secretary

Thomas Wright

Senior Deacon

George Turnbull

Junior Deacon

Adam Elphistone Junior

Chaplain

Thomas Muir

Grand Steward

Findlay Hay

1st Standard Bearer

Vacant

2nd Standard Bearer

Vacant

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

David Mc Kay

 

Thereafter the Lodge was closed in Due form by the RWM.

 

29th December 1828

This Night the Lodge was duly opened when a Committee was appointed to examine the Books consisting of Brother J Fraser, John Burns and A Stewart.

 

Thereafter the RWM appointed Brother Robert Hay J E with a deputation to visit the Lodges Journeyman Masons, St David's and the Roman Eagle he himself with another Deputation visiting the Lodges Marys Chapel, St Andrews and the Defensive Band and being well received, returned to the place where they met when the Lodge was closed by the RWM in due form.

 

22nd January 1829

Mr James Forbes EPR

 

19th February 1829

The Evening the Lodge was opened for the purpose of holding a convivial meeting when deputations were received from the following Sister Lodges:-

alt  St Andrews Lodge No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Carmichael

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Edinburgh Defensive Band Lodge No 151Headed by RWM Brother Mc Gilveray

Mary Chapel-1  St Marys Chapel Lodge No 1 Headed by RWM Brother Giles.

 

19th February 1829

Bro Secretary Fitz Strathern made the following remarks:-

Whatever is the cause, there is no Minutes of Memorandums for the Celtic Lodge's proceedings from the above Date 18th February 1829 until 28th January 1830 nearly a year is unknown.

 

29th September 1829

Toolbooth Church  Tollbooth Church The foundation stone was laid in true Masonic Style. The Church Dates from the 1844 it served as a Parish Church and a meeting place.

Designed by:-

James Gillespie Graham James Gillespie Graham and:-

Augustus Welby Pugin  Augustus Welby Puginin the English Gothic style.

The procession to celebrate 150th anniversary and Re Dedication Ceremony of the Celtic Lodge and started from the Tollbooth Church led by Piper Bro Andrew Ross followed by the Brethren dressed in their finest Regalia and Royal Stewart Tartan with the Flags blowing slowly in the breeze.


27th December 1829

By order of the RWM Peter Farquharson, the Lodge met at St Andrew's Lodge Room in Brodie's Close for the purpose of electing the office Bearers for the year 1829-1830 when the following Brethren were unanimously elected.

HERATLDR  List of Office - Bearers for Ensuing year 1829 - 1830.

 

RWM

Peter Farquharson

Past Master

Adam Elphiston

Substitute Master

William James Brown Depute Master Moris Leon

Senior Warden

William Masson

Junior Warden

Archibald Sime

Treasurer

Donald McKenzie

Secretary

Daniel McLaren

Senior Deacon

Robert Fraser

Junior Deacon

Robert Robinson

Chaplain

Thomas Muir

Grand Steward

Charles Kennedy

1st Standard Bearer

Vacant

2nd Standard Bearer

Vacant

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

Tantram Mc Kay


Thereafter the Lodge was closed in Due form by the RWM.


28th January 1830.

The Lodge Celtic committee met to examine the books.

It was moved and agreed the examination should be left to a committee of the following Brethren:- RWM Bro Stewart, PM Bro Farquharson, Bro Leon, Bro Treasurer Mc Kenzie, Bro Masson, Bro Sime, Bro Sec Wright, Bro Hay.

 

The Committee met at Farquharsons Tavern on Friday the 29th at 11am the committee recommended that the first convivial meeting should take place on Monday the 1st February 1830. It was also agreed the Lodge should purchase new Skins for repairing the clothing.

 

29th January 1830.

Committee met in Farquharsons Tavern at 11am the committee recommends that the first convivial meeting should take place on Monday 1st February1830.

 

6th and 8th April 1830.

 

The Committee held a meeting in the RWM Bro Alexander Stewart's House.

Present were Brothers Alex Stewart RWM, Morris Leon, Archibald Sime, Donald Mc Kenzie and William Masson. Brothers Masson and Leon were instructed to go to Secretary Bro Wright's house to collect all the Lodge's books as Bro Wright declined the office of Secretary, when they returned the Committee recommended brother James Hewitt be appointed interim Secretary, also that as Bro Robert Hay was not able to attend to his duty,

Brother William Masson was appointed Senior Warden. The Committee then recommended that the sum of Five Pounds Sterling be handed to the Bro Treasurer after all debts shall be paid into the Bank in the name of the RWM and Wardens.

 

The Committee recommended that the Lodge have a Grand Ball on the 29th currant.

On the 8th April 1830 the Committee met in the house of Brother William M Nicolson.

The Committee members as follows Brothers Alex Stewart RWM, P Farquharson PM, Donald Mc Kenzie Treasurer, Morris Leon PT, Archibald Sime and William Masson. The Committee were perfectly satisfied with the Book and Accounts, and then passed then over to Brother Morris Leon succeeding Treasurer.

 

The Committee then discussed the Deputation to the Roman Eagle Lodge, the procession and the Laying of the Foundation Stone at Musselburgh Masonic Lodge Room the meeting was closed by the RWM.

 

9th April 1830.

On this Evening the Lodge Met in St Andrew's Lodge Room, Brodie's Close.

When Mr Robert Robertson a Spirit Dealer of Clyde Street Edinburgh,

72nd Regiment Piper  Sergeant Alexander Mc Arthur of the 72nd Regiment, 143 Grass Market Edinburgh, and

Mr John Scott of 17 Royal Circus Edinburgh were all Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

The Lodge was closed in due form by RWM Alex Stewart.

 

12th April 1830.

001.jpg  On this Day the Lodge Celtic met when they agreed to have a Grand Ball on the 29th inst to be held in St Andrews Lodge Room Brodies Close Lawnmarket.

Tickets for Admission were set at Seven Shillings and Six pence each by Order of RWM Alexander Stewart.

 

19th April 1830.

This Evening the Lodge meeting met at St Andrew's Lodge Room, the Lodge was opened in Due form by RWM Alex Stewart.

Mr James Walkinshaw of 18 Duke Street Edinburgh was Entered as an Apprentice Passed to the Fellow Craft Degree, then Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. After which the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

22th April 1830.

This Evening the Lodge meeting met at St Andrew's Lodge Room Brodie's Close, the Lodge was opened in Due form by RWM Alex Stewart.

Mr David Nimmo, Engraver. 27 North Street Edinburgh, was Entered as an Apprentice, Passed to the Fellow Craft, then Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

28th April 1830.

At a Meeting of the Committee held this Day.

The Case of David Mc Kay who was appointed Tyler to the Lodge on the 27th December 1829, was taken under consideration, he having either neglected or refused to deliver the Letter to the Brethren.

When it was agreed that Trantram Mc Kay should Act as Tyler upon this condition, that he was to receive at the Rate of Two Pounds Sterling from the Lodge yearly, and when qualified to enter Members to have Two Shillings as his fees and the Secretary One Shilling and until he is qualified the person entering a Member to receive One Shilling the Tyler One Shilling and the Secretary One Shilling, which agreement Trantram Mc Kay agreed to and is to officiate as Tyler to the ball to be held to-morrow Night.

 

29th April 1830. 

The Grand Ball held on this Evening did not have a report listed at the time.

From searching later Minutes Brother William JR Boland PM has this report.

On the night of the Grand Ball the RWM Alexander Stewart, Brother Alexander was the First Initiate in the Celtic Lodge on the 22nd April 1821 worked his way around the floor to each of the Offices in the Lodge.

On the 29th December 1829 he was installed in the Chair of Solomon.

 

On the 29th April 1830 was at the head of his procession entering St Andrew's Lodge for the Grand Ball along with his good Lady Wife and Members of the Celtic Lodge and their guests.

On the Evening The RWM and his Wife and Two Guests, arrived in a Horse Drawn Carriage, The RWM had a Handle Bar Moustache and his Wife had a long Ball Gown, we don't know how the Evening went, But at a re-enactment in our Lodge Room in 1963 to celebrate.

001.jpg  The Grand opening of the Celtic Lodge now owned by the Lodge some 132 Years later and still in the Possession of the Celtic Lodge now 31st 05 2012 and to celebrate our 50th anniversary in 2013.

From our records in 1963 our Ball had all the pomp and circumstance of the 1830 Ball, with the RWM Alexander Bade, and his Lady Wife also arriving in a Horse Drawn Carriage, and The RWM with Handle Bar Moustache, and his Wife Dressed in a Long Ball Gown.

The Evening was very successful and most enjoyable, when they danced into the small hours, and after many toasts and speeches the Mystic night was closed.

 

30th June 1830.

King William IV  King William IV. Was proclaimed at the Cross by the Lord Provost following the death of King George IV

King William Henry From 21st August 1765 – 20th June 1837 The third son of George III and Younger Brother and successor to King George IV and was the last King and Penultimate Monarch of the House of Hanover Nicknamed the Sailor King His Reign saw Several reforms: -

The Poor Law was updated.

The Child Labour restricted.

The Slavery Abolished in nearly all the British Empire His successor was the young Princess Victoria.

1830. Dean Bridge was erected.

 

16th December 1830. 

At the Committee meeting called by the RWM it was agreed that the Lodge meeting should be held on Monday 27th December 1830 at half past two o clock afternoon being the Festival of St John's day, to Elect Office Bearers for the ensuing year,

It was also agreed to dine at Brother Farquharson's Eagle Tavern 219 High Street Edinburgh at Four o'clock PM and to hold a convivial meeting in the Evening in the same Tavern, and to send and receive deputations to and from Sister Lodges.

Tickets for Dinner are priced at 2/- per Ticket from RWM and Bro Farquharson before Saturday 25th before

4 o'clock PM.

 

27th December 1830.

A worthy Knight  The Master Elect Bro Alexander Stewart a Spirit Merchant, 188 Cowgate a respectable Highlander of the Stewart Clan was the First Candidate that petitioned for the Honor of Initiation in the Lodge Celtic on the 22nd May 1821.

By order of the RWM the Lodge met this day in St Andrew's Lodge Room Brodie's Close at Two O'clock PM for the purpose of Electing of Office Bearers for the Ensuing year when the following Brethren were unanimously Elected:-

1830 - 1831.

 

RWM Alexander Stewart
Depute Master Morris Leon
Substitute Master William James Brown
Senior Warden William Masson
Junior Warden Archibald Sime
Treasurer Donald McKenzie
Secretary Daniel Mc Laren
Senior Deacon Robert Fraser
Junior Deacon Robert Robertson
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Grand Steward Charles Kennedy
Taylor Trantram Mc Kay
2nd Standard Bearer Vacant
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler Vacant

 

Committee P Farquharson, Atiken, R Robertson, Falconer, M Leon, Hewitt.

This Evening the Lodge was opened for the purpose of holding a convivial meeting.

When deputations were received from the following Lodges:-

Dalkeith Contivent

St Andrew's

St Mary's

St Stephens No 145  St Stephens Lodge No 145

After the meeting the RWM closed the Lodge in due form.

 

13th January 1831. 

The Committee meeting consisted of the Following RWM Alex Stewart, DM Morris Leon, SW William Masson, Treasurer D Mc Kenzie and D Robert Robertson, on the agenda was a discussion on attendance, also the books balanced by Mr McKenzie that and were correct, that in the Treasurers hands amounting to Five Pounds Twelve Shillings Sterling.

Next it was also agreed at the first public meeting the name of Richard Simpson. Be struck from the Celtic Lodge and henceforth to be denied all privileges belonging thereto.

 

27th January 1831

The committee meeting being held at Brother Fraquharson’s house called by the RWM Brother Alexander Stewart for the propose of entering and initiating members when the different members were respectfully requested to bring forward as many of their friends as were wishing to join the Lodge when the following brethren were initiated:-

Brother John Campbell of Spear’s Hotel 21 Princess Street Edinburgh Hon and

Brother John McGregor St Andrews Tavern 30 Ross Street Edinburgh Hon and Candidates as follows: -

Brother Thomas Cameron 6 Hamilton Place Edinburgh Hon/Member

Mr James Campbell Canongate Edinburgh EP and Raised

Brother John Campbell of Spear's Hotel 21 Princes Street Edinburgh Hon/Member

Brother David Davidson 14 Queens Street Edinburgh Hon/Member

Allison a Haberdasher in the Canongate Edinburgh Hon/Member

Brother James Milligan Canongate Edinburgh Hon/Member

Brother Archibald Baxter Bread Street Edinburgh Hon/Member

James Campbell Canongate Edinburgh Hon/Member

Joseph Newton and William Leitch Brown’s Close Canongate Edinburgh All were Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason

Brother Allison a Haberdasher in the Canongate was made Hon/Member.

Brother Archibald Baxter of Bread Street Edinburgh was made Hon/Member.

 

22nd May 1831

10 years on the 2nd story of a Pack of Cards.

Masonic Pack of Cards  The Masonic Pack of Cards,

One evening at a Meeting, a Brother was seen by a Past Master, playing with a Pack of Cards. This was duly reported to the Committee, the offending Brother was summoned to appear before them to give an explanation of his behaviour.

This was his reply:-

RWM I was not playing with these cards in any Un-Masonic manner, I regard them as my Ritual Almanac.


The RWM said Brother please explain.

The ACE, Reminds me of the Great Architect the Grand Geometrician of the Universe. (Most High)

The Two, Reminds me of the Two Great Pillars at the entrance to King Solomon's Temple.

The Three, Reminds me of that Three Rule the Lodge, the RWM, WSW and WJW.

The Four, Reminds me of the Four Cardinal Winds of Heaven.

The Five, Reminds me of the Five Noble Orders of Architecture namely, Tuscan, Doric, Ionic, Corinthian and Composite.

The Six, Reminds me of the six principles of our order, Brotherly Love, Relief, Truth, Hope and Charity.

The Seven, Reminds me of the Seven Liberal Arts and Sciences, Grammar, Rhetoric, Logic, Arithmetic, Geometry, Music and Astronomy.

The Eight, Reminds me of Eccles. XII, Verse 8. Vanity oh Vanity Sayeth the Preacher.

The Nine, Reminds me of all the Working Tools the 24" Gauge, Mallet, Chisel, Square, Level, Plumb Rule, Skirret, Pencil and Compasses.

The Ten, Reminds me of the Ten Commandments on which our Order is based.

The Jack, Reminds me of the Princes of the Household who went to view the Completed Temple.

The Queen, Reminds me of a Widow who bore a Famous Son and Likewise our Sovereign.

The King, Reminds me of King Solomon, the Principle Figure of our Order.

There are Two Colours, which reminds me of the Pillar of Fire and Cloud, or Night and Day.

There are Four Suits which reminds me of the 24" Gauge Lecture, Thanksgiving to the Most High, Labour for Ourselves and our Dependants, Refreshment and Enjoyment of the good things Providence has bestowed and Sleep Natures great Restorer.

There are Twelve Face Cards, which reminds me of the 12 Tribes in Israel and the Twelve Signs of the Zodiac.

There are 365 Spots in a Pack of Cards, which reminds me that there are 365 Days in a Year, the Time when a Brother should be a Freemason and not only on Meeting Nights.

That RWM is the explanation of my behaviour in the Lodge. 2nd part 10 years on (CR WJRB)

 

25th October 1831.

This Committee Meeting called by Morris Leon Depute Master and Brother Sime JW, which was held in Brother Farquharson's this evening for the purpose of Inspecting the Books in the hands of the Treasurer, and to discuss the situation of the Taylor being Vacant.

It was proposed that John McPherson be elected, and this was to the satisfaction of the committee, it was also proposed that Mr William Gunn and Mr William Mc Kay be put in as candidates to be decided at the first meeting called on Friday 28th inst at 7 O' clock PM.

 

27th December 1831.

Crown and Stone  By order of the RWM a Meeting was called this day in St Andrew's Lodge, Brodie's Close at 2 O'clock PM, for the purpose of Electing Office Bearers for the ensuing year, when the following Brethren were unanimously elected:-

 

1831-1832.

 

RWM Morris Leon
Depute Master Peter Farquharson
Substitute Master H Falconer
Senior Warden Andrew Sime
Junior Warden R Fraser
Treasurer Donald Mc Kenzie
Secretary Daniel Mc Laren
Senior Deacon Robert Robertson
Junior Deacon William Aitken
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Grand Steward Vacant
2nd Standard Bearer Vacant
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler J Gunn

The Following Brethren were then appointed standing Committee:-

G Hewitt, G Wilson, Moffatt C Kennedy, R Menzies and G W Knight, after which at high Twelve the Lodge was shut in due form.

 

12th February 1832

Cholera breaks out in London, claiming at least 3,000 victims. It spread to France and North America later in that year.

 

12th March 1832

This evening the Lodge was duly opened by the RWM Bro Morris Leon.

Canada Maple Leaf  Mr Walter Campbell of Canada he was proposed as a Candidate for admission. He being unanimously approved was EP and Raised, after which at High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

16th March 1832.

The Committee met this Evening to regulate the affairs of the Lodge, at the same time it appeared that Bro Thomas Muir had formerly been appointed by the Lodge to draw up a code of Laws.

For the purpose which he had accordingly done and which Laws had been fully approved. The Committee unanimously agreed that Brother Muir be again appointed to produce another outline of the said Laws that has since been lost in recommending them for adoption by the Lodge.

 

On the 28th March 1832,

The Committee met to discuss the report of a code of the Laws by Bro Thomas Muir, who had pleasure in laying before them his report for approval.

These Laws were then read and maturely considered seriatim and with a few additions and some verbal alterations were unanimously approved and ordered to be recommended to the Lodge for their adoption.

 

Mr John Merilees a Surgeon of 10 Lothian Street Edinburgh was properly recommended as a candidate for admission was E P and Raised.  At High Twelve the Lodge was Closed in due form by RWM Morris Leon.

 

5th April 1832

After the Committee meeting on the Laws and Alterations and amendments, and the Committee agreeing that a General Meeting of the Lodge should be called and these by-laws be recommended to the Brethren.

Mr James Shields of Portobello having been properly recommended for admission was Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

19th April 1832.

The General Meeting, the thanks of the Brethren were unanimously voted to Bro Muir for the care he had taken in the general concerns of the Lodge and the trouble he had been at in preparing and arranging these Bye Laws.

The thanks of the Brethren were unanimously voted to Bro Muir for the care he had taken in the General concerns of the Lodge

Mr Michael Kelly of India Place Edinburgh, having been properly recommended for admission was E, P and R.

Afterwards the names of the following were added to the Committee:-

Bro William Leitch, Bro John Merrilees, Bro James Walkunshaw, Bro William Masson and Bro Charles Kennedy, were added to the Committee of the Lodge. The Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

On the 24th April 1832

The Lodge was opened by the RWM Brother Morris Leon, Mr James Muir a Quill Manufacturer, having been properly recommended for admission he was E, P and R. The Lodge was then closed at High Twelve.

 

On the 2nd May 1832,

After a Lecture on the Mysteries of the Craft the Evening was spent in the greatest harmony.

St Stephens No 145  Brother David Baptie of the Lodge St Stephens Edinburgh and

alt  Brother Michael Scanlon of the Lodge St Andrew's Edinburgh were proposed as Honorary Members of the Celtic Lodge and unanimously admitted, The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

4th Jun 1832

This was the Regular Monthly Meeting of Office Bearers. After the Monthly business and the harmonious evening the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

25th June 1832

This Evening the Lodge having been opened by the RWM,

Mr Alexander Lawrie, Motel Keeper Princes Street Edinburgh was properly recommended as a candidate for admission and unanimously approved, he was E, P and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Then Mr John Boyce of 16 Shandwick Place Edinburgh was also E, P and R. 

Brother John Ross of the Lodge was properly recommended to become a Member of this Lodge and was unanimously admitted.

The RWM, Office Bearers and Brethren of the Lodge and visiting brethren celebrated the Festival of St John the Baptist by Dining together in the House of Brother Lawrie. In the Evening the Lodge was opened and the time spent in a truly Masonic manner.

Brother John Ross of the Lodge was properly recommended to become a member of the Lodge and unanimously admitted. After which the Lodge was closed in due form.

On this Evening the RWM reported that the Offices of Junior and Senior Deacons were bother Vacant as the Brethren who held theses Offices had since left the City,

 

The July meeting of 1832

The RWM proposed that Bro John Merrilees be appointed Junior Warden and Bro William Aitken to be raised from Junior to Senior Deacon and Bro James Wilkingshaw to be Junior Deacon, this proposition were agreed and these Brethren accepted the respective Offices.

The Lodge was closed in due form and the Brethren retired to the Harmony Room. 

 

7th August 1832.

In the absence of the RWM the Chair of King Solomon was taken by Brother Andrew Sime Senior Warden thereafter the Lodge was opened in due form.

Mr Silvassus Tossolisi Clerk of 133 George Street Edinburgh, was properly recommended to become a member of the fraternity, having been fully approved he was Entered Apprentice, Passed Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Brother Silvassus then paid the Lodge Dues to include his Diploma to the Treasurer Bro Donald Mc Kenzie. Afterwards the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

3rd September 1832

In the absence of the RWM, the Lodge was opened by Bro Thomas Muir Chaplain, who then gave a Lecture on the Mysteries of the Craft.

 

On the 1st October 1832

The Committee agreed that a new box should be purchased capable of holding the Lodge Books and Documents, the box to have a lock with three keys, One for the RWM, Senior Warden and the Secretary.

Afterwards the Brother Chaplain Thomas Muir gave a Lecture on the Apprentice and Fellow Craft parts of Masonry and spending the evening in a very Harmonious manner, at high twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

5th November 1832.

This Evening the regular monthly meeting was held in the Albyn Hotel. The Lodge was opened by the RWM.

The following Brethren present RWM Morris Leon, Bro Muir, Bro Merrillees, Bro Mason, Bro Bro Sime, Bro Aitken, Bro Wilkinshaw, Bro McKenzie and Charles Mc Kenzie.

At this meeting the following Brethren were Initiated:-

Dalkeith Kilwinning No 10  Brother James Scott of Dalkeith Kilwinning Lodge.

alt  Brother Thomas Boag of St David's Lodge

alt  Brother William Peddie of Lodge St Andrew's who was authorised to collect the outstanding debts, the whole with the full approval of the Committee present the forgoing Initiation being all free.

Afterwards Brother Muir gave a Lecture on the mysteries of the Craft, after which Spending a harmonious evening the Lodge was shut at high twelve by RWM Morris Leon.

 

26th November 1832

The Lodge was opened.

Mr Andrew Moffatt a Fish Monger of Dundas Street Edinburgh, was recommended to become a member by the RWM, he was fully approved and was Entered Apprentice, Passed Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

On the 28th November 1832

Mr John Tod a Bookbinder of 12 Clyde Street Edinburgh was recommended by Bro Aitken to become a member. He was Entered, Passed and Raised,

Brother Angus McPherson of the Defensive Band Lodge was proposed by the RWM to become a member of this Lodge. He was unanimously approved and admitted accordingly.

 

30th November 1932

Mr James Spalding of 10 North St David's Street was recommended by Brother Sime to become a Member. He was entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Mr Edward Hillyard being recommended by Bro William Aitken was also entered an Apprentice. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

3rd December 1832

Brother Muir, Chaplain gave a Lecture on the Apprentice past,

Mr Edward Hillyard who was entered on the 30th November, came forward and being further approved was Passed Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

14th December 1832

Mr Hugh Brodie a Spirit Merchant of Howe Street and Mr Donald Mc Laren, Chair Master Circus Place were recommended by Bro RWM and SW Bro Sime to become members of the Lodge. They were Entered, Passed and Raised. After which the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

24th December 1832

Mr William Henry Jeffkins, a Taylor 62 Princes Street, proposed by Bro Andrew Moffatt and approved, he was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. Nominations for Office Bearers were put forward for the ensuing year. The following brothers were recommended to become Members of the Lodge.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro Fisher RWM of Roman Eagle Lodge

Bro Webster of Cannongate and Leith Leith and Cannongate Lodge

Portobello No 226  Bro D Creighton of Portobello Lodge

32nd Regiment  Bro E Burke of Designates Whites Lodge of the 32nd Regiment.

They were duly admitted members.

 

27th December 1832.

More Lodge Photos 076  At a meeting held this day at the Albyn Hotel for the Election of Office Bearers the Following Brethren were unanimously elected.

 

List of Office - Bearers ensuing year 1832 - 1833

RWM Morris Leon
PM Alex Stewart
DM William Aitken
SM D Baptie
Senior Warden RArch Sime
Junior Warden John Merrilees
Secretary Daniel Mc Laren
Treasurer Charles Kennedy
Senior Deacon Andrew Moffatt
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Junior Deacon Edward Hillyard
Grand Steward Michael Kelly
2nd Standard Bearer Vacant
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler James Spaldin

The Following Brethren were chosen as the Standing Committee:-

Bro A Mc Knight 99 Princes Street Edinburgh

Bro John Mc Gregor 30 Melrose Street Edinburgh

Bro D Mc Knight 29 New Street Cannongate

Bro D Donaldson 14 Queens Street Edinburgh

Bro James Muir 33 Richmond Street Edinburgh

The same evening the Lodge celebrated the:-

St John the Evangelist  Festival of St John the Evangelist at 8 O' Clock when Deputations were received from the following Sister Lodge:-

Mary Chapel-1  RWM Bro Marshall of Mary's Chapel Lodge

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  RWM Bro Gunn of Cannongate Kilwinning Lodge

RWM Bro Richardson of St Luke's Lodge

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  RWM Bro Anderson of Defensive Band Lodge

alt  RWM Bro Carmichael of St Andrew's Lodge

W Bro Jeffrey Second Deputation St Andrew's Lodge

St Stephens No 145  W Bro Welby of St Stephens Lodge

alt  W Bro Duncan of St David's Lodge

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  RWM Bro MacKay of Roman Eagle Lodge

Dalkeith Kilwinning No 10  RWM of Dalkeith Kilwinning. After which the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

7th January 1833

The Lodge Met in the Albyn Hotel Princes Street Edinburgh after being opened by RWM.

Mr Donald Cameron residing at Davidson's New Club St Andrew's Square Edinburgh, was recommended by Bro Malcolm Mc Culleum of Albyn Hotel Princes Street Edinburgh, being fully approved Mr Cameron was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masson.

Also at the Albyn Hotel Princes Street,

Mr Fleming Angus residing at Haggs by Kirknewton was recommended by Bro Andrew Moffatt and being approved was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

After which Bro Muir and Bro McPherson went over an explanation of the first part of Masonry.

Brother J Ronaldson of the New Edinburgh Kilwinning Lodge and

altBrother John Taylor of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh, were initiated onto the Celtic Lodge. As the Books were made up before Bro Ghiecheugh? Was Initiated it is now intimated here that he was proposed as a Member by the RWM and unanimously approved, he was therefore admitted a Member of the Lodge. I can't find an entry in the Members Book of 1822-1894.

 

4th February 1833

Bro Muir proceeded with a Lecture as usual which was received with satisfaction.

Brother Thomas Hale of the Royal Sussex London Portsmouth No 4 of England, and:-

alt  Brother Alexander Aitken of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh, were recommended and approved to be members of this Lodge. They paid their Fees.

Black Apron  The RWM stated that previous to the sudden Death of the late Brother Treasurer, he had disposed his Books sealed by his own hand in the Lodges Box.

He further proposed that a special committee be appointed to make up his accounts and that the Widow of the Late Brother Treasurer have the privilege of sending a friend being a Freemason to attend the committee meeting and to see that the seals were intact and to verify the writing was in his own hand. It was agreed to carry forward to the next meeting.

 

8th February 1833

At 7 O'clock, it was agreed that a subcommittee be formed to examine the Books they agreed to meet on Monday.

 

11th February 1833

At 4 O'clock and the RWM with Bro Thomas Muir met with Francis McKenzie also a Mason and the Son of the Late Treasurer Brother Donald McKenzie.

When after careful perusal of the Books it was found that they were in the late brothers hand writing. So there was no difficulty in the committee finally auditing his Accounts and examining and comparing his Vouchers, they would make a report to the Brethren.

 

21st February 1833

This evening the Office Bearers and Committee were summoned to attend the report of the Late Brother Treasurers Donald McKenzies accounts and Books and the Judgment was that his Books, Statements. Disbursements and Vouchers were perfectly correct and that he had a balancing hand of Three Pounds Eight Shillings and Eight Pence, the Brethren applauded the Late Brothers dedication to further the Lodge's best Interest.

 

4th March 1833

On this Evening Bro Muir gave a Lecture on the Mysteries of Freemasonry. Thereafter, Mr Hugh Graham, Coachman to Sir George Ballingate was recommended by Bro John Todd.

Mr John McLaren was recommended by Bros Hugh Brodie and Malcolm McCallum, they were both unanimously approved and were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

 

14th March 1833

The RWM Received Deputations from the following Sister Lodges:-

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  RWM Bro Baxter Defensive Band Lodge Edinburgh.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  RWM Bro Fisher Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh.

alt  RWM Bro Anderson St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  RWM Bro McMillan Cannongate Kilwinning Lodge Edinburgh.

 

1st April 1833.

This evening being a regular monthly meeting Brother Muir gave a lecture that and instruction on the Entered Apprentice, much to the gratification of the Brethren.

Mr James Atkinson a Saddler was proposed by Bros Edward Hillyard and William Aitken to become a Member.

Mr Thomas Rodgers a Grocer proposed by Bros Archibald Sime and Hugh Brodie, they were both Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

 

25th April 1833

The Committee met this evening when a draft of the Laws proposed to be adopted by Grand Lodge, it was taken into consideration and considerable objections made to many of the clauses.

The RWM was instructed to take his pleasure as to the most proper measures to be taken by him to oppose these obnoxious clauses.

The RWM and Bros Aitken, Baptie and Merrilees were appointed to look for a Lodge Room in the New Town, to request the favour of the Edinburgh Defensive Band Lodge Room.

Mr Alexander A Stewart had sent a Claim on the Lodge for certain Sums which he alleged. That he had paid for it in Charity Postage.

The Committee refused to sustain his Claim as he had three times neglected to attend the Committee when requested to substantiate his Claim, Which the Late Brother Treasurer Donald McKenzie often stated was not due.

 

3rd June 18

Bro William Aitken opened the Lodge in the absence of the RWM. Bro Muir gave a Lecture on the Fellow Craft Degree.

 

2nd July 1833

The RWM opened the Lodge in due form. Bro Alexander McKnight presented a letter from Mr George Gower claiming the Sum of £3.00 for Two Sashes and Aprons which he said he sold to the Lodge during the time of Bro Richard Simpson RWM at that Time.

Bro Simpson stated that no such transaction appeared in the Books of the Lodge, and that as long as he had been in office, he had never before heard of it, and several members also stated that they also had never before heard of it.

The meeting therefore were unanimously of the opinion that no notice should be taken of the matter, and that Mr Bruce? Should apply to the person to whom he sold the articles.

Brother John Ronaldson was appointed Junior Deacon. Instead of Bro Edward Hillyard and Bro Bowhill was appointed onto the Committee instead of Bro James Muir.

 

The usual Lecture on the Mysteries of the Craft was then given by Bro Thomas Muir, after which the evening was spent in great harmony.

 

18th July 1833

Mr Adam Vans Brokee of Blair Street Edinburgh

Mr William Boston of Albyn Hotel Princes Street Edinburgh were properly recommended and approved were entered, passed and raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

Honorary Member Charles Hatton of Pollockshaws Royal Arch.

Honorary Member Alexander Stewart Tain Lyon of Lodge Kenmore

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Honorary Member Robert Russell of Roman Eagle Lodge.

Were proposed and approved and admitted members of the Celtic Lodge.

 

2nd August 1833

Mr William Bartholomew Biddel was properly approved and Entered Apprentice.

Bro Le-Ry of the Lodge

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Honorary Member Charles Wright of Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 Edinburgh

Bro William Allan of St Abbs Lodge Eyemouth

Bro John McKay of St Abbs Lodge Eyemouth.

Bro S S Zempelburgh.

Were proposed, approved and admitted Members of the Lodge.

The Members of the Brethren then partook of an excellent supper to which they had invited the senior Warden Bro Archibald Sime.

As a token of their respect for him as an Office Bearer and on the occasion of him leaving the Town, to reside in the Country. After some time spent in Harmony the Lodge was shut in due form.

 

6th August 1833

The RWM proposed the Following Brethren be admitted Members of the Lodge:-

Bro James Maxwell RWM Rutherglen Royal Arch Glasgow.

Bro John Preston PM Rutherglen Royal Arch Glasgow.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Bro James McMillan Connongate Killwining Lodge Edinburgh.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro John Adams Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro Adam Johnston Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh.

They were all approved and admitted accordingly.

Mr David McLaggan was proposed and admitted an Enter Apprentice. passed to the Fellow Craft and raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

3rd September 1833

It was proposed and agreed that Jewels be procured for the following Offices:-

Past Master, Depute Master, Senior Deacon, Junior Deacon, as none of these Office Bearers have Jewels of their Offices. Bro Ronaldson Jeweller South Bridge Street Edinburgh was employed to furnish the Lodge Jewels.

 

A Letter was received from Mr Lawrie a Baker Claiming Payment of a Debt of £1 9/- Which he states was due to him by the Lodge, as no evidence of any such Debt, His Claim was rejected.

 

The RWM proposed a toast to the Laying of the Foundation Stone of the New Bridge in Glasgow, and also the health and happiness, to Brother Thomas Muir Chaplain and Secretary of the Celtic Lodge.

Who was in Glasgow on this Occasion, the toast was drunk with the most rapturous applause.

After spending the night in great harmony at high Twelve the Lodge was shut in due form.

 

25th September 1833

Mr Thomas Murray Talbot a Writer, And

Mr John Tait a Spirit Dealer, were proposed and approved. Both were entered Apprentices.                           

Then Mr William Bartholomew Biddel who had been entered Apprentice all were passed Fellow Crafts and then raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Bro William Aitken Depute Master stated to the Lodge, that Bros John Tod and Hugh Brodie had gone to Glasgow on the 3rd but were too late for the Procession.

They however joined as a Deputation of the Celtic Lodge and visited the Kilwinning Lodge No4 Glasgow. By whom they were received with high Masonic Honour and treated with Brotherly kindness and attention.

Bro Aitken stated that there were about 400 Brethren present of the most respectable appearance and the Brethren spent a most delightful evening. A full report can be found on pages 31 and 32 Minutes Book 1827-1843.

 

24th October 1833

Deputations were received from Sister Lodges as follows:-

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  RWM Bro Anderson Defensive Band Lodge Edinburgh

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  RWM Bro Fisher Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh.

St Stephens No 145  RWM Bro James McKenzie St Stephens Lodge Edinburgh.

The evening was spent with the greatest Masonic Harmony.

 

28th November 1833

Mr William Symonds Tomlin was recommended by Bro James McGlashaw and Alexander McKnight to become a Member of this Lodge.

He was approved and initiated an entered Apprentice, passed to the Fellow Craft Degree and then raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

6th December 1833

St Stephens No 145  Bro John Collie a Printer and Member of St Stephen's Lodge was recommended by RWM and Bro William Aitken to become a Member of this Lodge. He was approved and initiated accordingly.

It was moved by the RWM that a Notice should be inserted in the North British Advertiser of the forth coming nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing year, and it was also moved that the same notice be Inserted in the Evening Courant.

That the nominations be held on the 20th December 1833 at 7 O'clock evening.

 

20th December 1833

Masonic Symbol 2  The Lodge met this evening and was opened in due form by the RWM the following Brethren were nominated to fill the respective Offices for the ensuing year:-

 

RWM Morris Leon
PM Alex Stewart
DM William Aitken
SM D Baptie
Senior Warden Arch Sime
Junior Warden Alex Atiken
Secretary Thomas Muir
Treasurer Charles Kennedy
Senior Deacon Andrew Moffatt
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Junior Deacon Adam Elphinstone
Grand Steward James Smith Law
2nd Standard Bearer Vacant
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler James Spalding

After spending the evening in the manner consonant to the principles and practise of the Craft in the most conspicuous manner at High Twelve the Lodge was shut in due form.

  

26th December 1833

Mr James Fraser and Thomas Ross a Taylor were recommended by Bro Adam Elphinstone and David Miller to become members of this Lodge and to Act as Stewards for two years in lieu of their entry money.

They were unanimously approved they were Entered, Passed and Fellow Crafts, after which at High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form

 

27th December 1833

001.jpg  This being the Anniversary of the Festival of St John the Evangelist, The Lodge met according to Ancient usage and was opened in due form. The Offices were declared vacant.

The Brethren proceeded to the Election of the Office Bearers, for the ensuing year. The following Brethren were Elected to fill the respective Offices:-

RWM Morris Leon
PM Alex Stewart
DM William Aitken
SM D Baptie
Senior Warden Arch Sime
Junior Warden Alex Atiken
Secretary Thomas Muir
Treasurer Charles Kennedy
Senior Deacon Andrew Moffatt
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Junior Deacon Adam Elphinstone
Grand Steward James Smith Law
2nd Standard Bearer Vacant
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler James Spalding

Brothers as per committee recommendations except Bro SD with Bros James Fraser and Thomas Ross assistant Stewards.

Angus McPherson Assist to Committee and Committee Members as Follows:-

Alex McKnight, Peter Farquharson, John Tod, William Masson, Alex Lawrie, William Baille and Thomas Murray Talbot.

The Lodge was favoured with Deputations from the following Sister Lodges. As they entered the Lodge:- 

 alt Bro Trotter of St Andrew's Lodge Edinburgh.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro Fisher Roman Eagle Lodge Edinburgh.

St Stephens No 145  Bro Arnott St Stephens Lodge Edinburgh

Journeyman Masons No 8  Bro Dewar Journeymen Masons Lodge Edinburgh.

alt  Bro Duchar St David's Lodge Edinburgh.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Bro Anderson Cannongate Kilwinning Lodge Edinburgh.

Bro Gilfillan Cannongate and Leith Leith and Cannongate Lodge Edinburgh.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Bro Anderson RWM Defensive Band Lodge Edinburgh.

Mary Chapel-1  Bro Muir St Mary's Chapple Lodge Edinburgh.

 

To all the RWM made the most Brotherly and appropriate address.

The Celtic Lodge also sent Deputations to visit several Lodges, In the City, to meet and celebrate the annual Festival's from all of which the most favourable reports were received.

Thereafter they spent the evening in the characteristic Masonic Harmony.

 

1st meeting in January 1834

The Lodge was opened by Bro William Aitken due to the RWM, being in Glasgow on Important Business.

 

A Lecture on the Mysteries of the Order was given by Bro Thomas Muir. At high Twelve the Lodge was closed in that Ancient form.

 

4th February 1834 

This being the regular meeting the Lodge was opened by the RWM Bro Morris Leon.

Brothers James Fraser and Thomas Ross who had been Entered and Passed were raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

Brothers Peter Portous Dollar, Thomas Livingston RWM of St Andrew's Lodge, and David Miller of 16 Carlton Hill Edinburgh. Were proposed and unanimously admitted Members of the Lodge.

Brother Muir gave a lecture on the origin and principles of Masonry, Which was much approved and greatly applauded, and after spending the evening with great Masonic harmony at High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

13th February 1834

This Evening the Office Bearers and Committee of the Lodge met to Audit Bro Charles Kennedy the Treasurers and his Accounts and Receipts Expenditure.

When after a careful perusal of the same and comparison of his Vouchers it appeared that the Lodge was indebted to him the Sum of Seven pounds Sixteen Shillings and Nine Pence.

The RWM Brother Morris Leon presented an Account of certain Sums which had at different times paid for the Lodge and laid on the table vouchers for the same.

These being properly examined and compared the Committee were fully satisfied that the Whole was correct and that the Lodge was at this time Bro M Leon's RWM's debt the sum of Seven pounds Sixteen Shillings and Nine Pence.

 

Brother Thomas Muir stated that one of our eldest and worthy members Brother Alexander McKnight and one of our first Wardens, and that his son Alexander junior was desirous of being a member of this Lodge, previous to leaving his native Scotland for America in a few days' time.

Mr Alexander McKnight junior was proposed and approved in open Lodge, Alexander was Entered Apprentice, Passed to the Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Brother Alexander McKnight Senior who was present at his sons Initiation and ceremony, said a hearty thanks to the Brethren of the Celtic Lodge for this great Honour of seeking his son going through his Masonic Degrees,

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

3rd March 1834

Mr William Nicol of 64 Broughton Street Edinburgh, And

Mr John Flounders of the Duty House North Bridge Edinburgh were proposed by Bro William Aitken DM. Seconded by Bro Morris Leon RWM,

Both were approved and Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

 

4th March 1834.

The Lodge met this evening and was opened in due form by the RWM. The lodge was favoured with the following deputations.

St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephens No145 Headed by RWM Brother Mac Callam

2Roman Eagle Crest No 160          Lodge Roman Eagle No160 Headed by RWM Brother Mackay

3          Lodge Canongate and Leith Leith and Canongate No 5 Headed by RWM

4St James Operative 97 Lodge St James Operative Lodge No 97 Headed by RWM Brother Rutherford

5alt.  Lodge St Andrews No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Livingston

6.Mary Chapel-1  Lodge Mary’s Chapel No1 Headed by RWM Brother Dechar

7.Roman Eagle Crest No 160Brother George Smith of Lodge Roman Eagle No160 and

Brother William Fraser of Lodge James’s London was Initiated members of the Lodge Celtic with the unanimous consent of the brethren.

 

During the evening the lodge was favoured with the musical performances of the celebrated Italian Brothers Francisco Voralhi Prospero Voralhi and Dominico Voralha To the great gratification and delight of the brethren.

After spending one of the most harmonious nights that can possibly be spent, whose characteristic is harmony, and admitting these Italian Brethren Members of the Celtic Lodge.

At high twelve the lodge was closed in due form. RWM Brother Morris Leon, Thomas Muir Secretary.

 

18th March 1834
On this Evening the Office Bearers and Committee of the Lodge met having been summoned on particular business.
Present were as follows:-RWM Bro Morris Leon, Bros Alexander McKnight, William Aitken, David Baptie, Archibald Sime, William Masson, James Fraser, Alexander Stewart, Peter Farquharson and Adam Elphinston. Brother Alexander McKnight the senior Member of the Committee having been called to the Chair,
The RWM stated that he had been Summoned before the Justices of the Peace by the Past Master Alexander Stewart for the Sum of Seven Shillings and Sixpence, which he alleged he has paid for the Lodge, when RWM in Charity and Postage of Letters.
That Bro Leon had opposed this claim on the grounds that the Late Treasurer Brother Donald McKenzie had repeatedly declined that this sum was not due to Bro Stewart, and also that Bro Stewart thought he had been repeatedly summoned to attend the Committee of the Lodge and substantiate his Claim had never done so, even though as an Office Bearer of the Lodge, he should have attended said meetings.
That the Justices had referred the matter to be decided by Mr Alexander Lawrie Secretary of the Grand Lodge, who had been called on by them, but could not be found, and that Bro Alexander Stewart had agreed yet to the Committee of the Lodge in consequence of which this meeting had been called.
Bro Alexander Stewart again stated that he was willing to abide by the decision of this Committee, and then the parties having left the room, after considerable discussion it was agreed that Bro Stewart should receive the Seven Shillings and Sixpence Claimed, but that he should not get any expenses as it was his own fault that the matter had not been settled by the Lodge long ago. 

9th April 1834

As owing to the indisposition of the RWM, the regular monthly meeting for instruction had not been held the Committee were summoned for this evening.

 

The Lodge being opened in due form, Brother Adam Elphinstone was appointed Grand Steward in place of Bro John Smith Law deceased. RW Rutherford of St James's Lodge Edinburgh was made a full member of this Lodge on the motion of Brother Thomas Muir and after a Lecture on the Apprentice Degree.
There are no Minutes of the Lodge for the Months of May, June, July, August, September, and not until 16th October being Six months and 7 days by W F inspector of records at that time.

 

16th October 1834

This was the regular monthly meeting of the Lodge. The Office Bearers and Committee met when the Lodge was opened in due form by the RWM.

 
The usual Masonic Lecture was given by Bro Thomas Muir.
Afterwards Bro Pentland Collin of the Lodge Royal Arch Perth was proposed by Bro Fisher as an Honorary Member of this Lodge and unanimously admitted. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

9th December 1834

Ship Like hms Edinburgh  This was Nomination of Office Bearers for the ensuing year the Lodge was opened in due form, the following Brethren named to the respective Offices:-

 

 List of Office - Bearers ensuing year 1834 - 1835

RWM Morris Leon
PM Alex Stewart
DM William Aitken
SM Arthur Muller
Senior Warden David Baptie
Junior Warden Hugh Brodie
Secretary Thomas Muir
Treasurer Charles Kennedy
Senior Deacon William Nicol
Chaplain Thomas Muir
Junior Deacon John Flounders
Grand Steward Adam Elphinston
2nd Standard Bearer James Fraser
Inner Guard Thomas Ross
Tyler David Logan

 

Bro Muir moved that as there was not a Jewel for the Grand Steward an appropriate one should be provided for that Office Bearer. The motion was seconded by Bro W Aitken and was unanimously agreed to.

It was also agreed that the general meeting for the election of Office Bearers and Celebration of St John be held in the large room of the Albyn Hotel 54 Princes Street Edinburgh.

Bro Charles Kidd.

Bro Grant of 16 South Bridge in Edinburgh.

Was proposed by Bro Muir as an Honorary Member of the Lodge, he was unanimously approved and admitted accordingly. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

27th December 1834

This evening was the Anniversary of the Festival of St John. The Brethren proceeded to Election of Office Bearers for the ensuing Year; the Brethren nominated at the last meeting were unanimously elected. The Following Brothers were elected as Committee Members:-

Bro Alexander McKnight.

Bro John Todd.

Bro Hugh Graham.

Bro John Merrilees.

Bro Charles Kidd.

Mr Farrer Herrmann Lebenheim from Berlin, also of No 57 North Bridge Edinburgh.

Mr Donald McPhee from 54 Princes Street Edinburgh

Were proposed to become Members, and being properly recommended were unanimously approved, and were Entered Apprentices.

The Lodge proceeded to celebrate the Festival of St John, and during the evening received Deputations from:-

Mary Chapel-1  Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1 Headed by RWM Bro John Deuchar and 5 Members.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Edinburgh Defensive Band Lodge No 151 Headed by RWM Bro Robert Anderson and 10 Members.

alt  St Andrew's Lodge No 48 Headed by RWM Bro Livingston and 4 Members.

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

1st January 1835

This evening the Following Brethren who had been formerly entered were passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Bro Farrer Herrimann Lebenheim.

Donald McPhee.

 

7th January 1835

This evening the Lodge was opened in due form, when the following who were properly recommended to become Members of the Lodge:-

Dominico Valentini.

Joseph Valentini. 

Were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

 

21st January 1835

This evening the Office Bearers and Committee of the Lodge met when the Treasurer's Accounts for the last year were examined and found to be quite correct.

The Lodge was found to be in debt to the RWM Bro Leon the Sum of Four Pounds Four Shillings and Seven Pence, the receipts for that past year were as follows:-

                        £16 pounds 2/- shilling and 6 pence

Expenditure £16 Pounds 1/- shilling and 3 and 1/2 pence.

Balance 1/- shilling and 2 and 1/2 pence

 

The RWM stated that Sir John Hay had pledged himself that the Grand Lodge would visit the Celtic Lodge on Monday 2nd February 1835. The statement was received with great pleasure.

 

26th January 1835

Mr George Donaldson Wright of St Patrick Square Edinburgh was recommended by RWM and Bro David Logan. Mr Davidson was approved in open Lodge and was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

30th January 1835

The Lodge being duly constituted Bro Theophili Bucher who had formerly been Entered Apprenticed in the Lodge, holding of the Grand Lodge of England, being properly recommended was Passed Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

2nd February 1835

This evening a general meeting of the Celtic Lodge Edinburgh and Leith No 291 was held in Free Mason’s Hall,

RWM Morris Leon in the Chair in consequence of an intimation from,

Sir John Hay 1835RW Sir John Hay Bart that the Grand Lodge Intended to Honour the lodge with a visitation.

The brethren of the lodge the greater part of whom were dressed in 001.jpgTraditional Celtic Royal Stewart Highland costume, about nine o’ clock Sir John Hay and the attending office bearers entered the lodge and were received in the most enthusiastic manner having taken their rightful places according to proper Masonic etiquette.

The business of the evening proceeded and conducted throughout in a manner calculated to throw a lustre on the fraternity and raise in the minds of all present such feeling of brotherly regard, and attachment not easily forgotten.

Many excellent speeches were made, and the harmony of the meeting met with the brethren. Sir John Hay remarked that it gave him inexplicable satisfaction to the prosperity of the Celtic Lodge, and

The Grand Lodge Sir John Hay Bart of Mary’s Chapel No1.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  RWM Bro John Deuchar, Canongate Kilwinning No 2 

RWM Brother Anthony Fraill  Canongate and Leith L and C No 5

Journeyman Masons No 8  RWM Brother Gaylor Journeyman Masons No 8

RWM Bro Deans, St Luke’s No 44

St James Operative 97RWM Bro John Richardson St James Operative No 97

alt  RWM Brother Rutherford St Andrews No 48

St Stephens No 145  RWM Brother Livingston St Stephens No145

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  RWM Brother Peter McCallum Roman Eagle No 160

RWM Brother James Marshall.

After spending the evening in the manner duly characteristic of the craft, at high twelve the lodge was closed in due form RWM Brother Morris Leon, Thomas Muir secretary.

 

2nd March 1835

Mr William Duguid a Solicitor of 20 Pit Street Edinburgh, and

Mr Thomas Whitten a Clerk in the Coach Offices 11 Princes Street Edinburgh.

Both were recommended an approved and were entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

16th March 1835. 

The lodge being duly constituted, The RWM Brother Morris Leon in the chair.

Mr Ludwig Wagner from Berlin recommended and unanimously approved was Entered Apprentice, Passed Fellow Craft, and Raised to the Sublime degree of a Master Mason. At high twelve the lodge was closed in due form.

 

18th March 1835

Mr Peter Dudgeon, and Mr William Sibbald of Coldstream was properly recommended and approved were both entered Apprentices.

 

25th March 1835

St Stephens No 145Brother John Gentle of lodge St Stephen’s No 145 was proposed by Brother John Marilee’s as an Honorary Member of the Celtic Lodge seconded by Brother Muir. Brother Peter Dudgeon who had formerly been entered, was passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The lodge was closed in due form.

 

24th April 1835

Mr James Anderson a Spirit Merchant of Gabriels Road Edinburgh. Who was properly recommended by RWM and was approved then Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

25th April 1835 

This Evening the Lodge met for the purpose of Consecration of the Lodge and was numerously attended by the Brethren of the Lodge, and numerous other visiting Brethren.

The Evening was spent in a most Harmonious manner and the Brethren applauded in numbers, the Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

22nd May 1835

Mr Duncan Cumming a Spirit Merchant in Princes Street Edinburgh was recommended by Brother Malcolm Robertson. Mr Cumming was approved and Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

11th June 1835

Brother Charles Kidd a Member of the Committee was called to the Chair when it was resolved that those to be Debated should be called on again to make up payment of their fees to the Lodge.

Further in respect the RWM produced the resignation of Bro Muir as Secretary to the Lodge, and that Bro William Duguid to act as interim Secretary which the Committee agreed to.

 

7th July 1835

Mr William Wright of Frederick Street Edinburgh,

Mr James Ramage a Minister of Mansfield Place Edinburgh. And

Mr Bruce Wright of the Angus Office Glasgow were properly approved and were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

At High Twelve the Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

29th September 1835

Mr Louis Bucher a Professor of German Language was properly recommended by the RWM to become a member of the Lodge. He was Approved and Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

17th November 1835

The Committee meeting of the Celtic Lodge of Edinburgh and Leith held in the Celtic Lodge Room. Present as the Committee Meeting as follows:-

Bro Morris Leon RWM

Bro T Aitken D M

Bro S Duguid

Bro Kidd. Baptie and McKnight.

 

1. The Committee in respect of has been represented to there that the Sum of Twenty Shillings, which the Grand Lodge were good enough to advance to assist in defraying the expenses of Interring Brother Mason was not required for that purpose, resolved that the fee should return the order grant for the above to the Grand Secretary.

2. That Brother Charles Corstorphine for his valuable services he had extended to the Lodge, in reference to Brother Mason's funeral shall be made a full member of the Lodge.

3. That in future the Lodge shall hold their meeting in the Waterloo Hotel and in the room taken for that purpose.

4. That the claim of Brother Ronaldson against the Lodge, Shall in respect it is Disputed, be referred to two respectable, competent persons to determine.

5. That the Committee recommend to their Treasurer to take legal steps against those members, who had received circulars to pay their fees to the Lodges and have failed to attend to the same.

6. That the Treasurer having proposed that Brother Duguid should continue to Act as Secretary, which was unanimously approved, and he was approved. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed.

 

30th November 1835

Mr John Henry Allen Professor of Music in Princes Street Edinburgh.

Mr David Davidson Spirit Dealer Edinburgh and

Mr Hugh Sinclair of the Waterloo Hotel Edinburgh they were all Entered Apprentices and then Passed to the Second Degree.

Dr Doeber Albert Grosskoff a Professor of the German Language. Bruce's Lodgings No 12 Queens Street Edinburgh and Brother of the Lodge Essex, was Initiated a member of the Celtic Lodge.

This being the Anniversary of St Andrew's Day the Brethren dined at the Waterloo Hotel,

 

Lord Fincastle Right Worshipful Grand Master in the Chair, supported by

Sir John Hay Bart Right Worshipful Substitute Master the Lord Provost of the City.

After spending a very happy evening, during which the Brethren evinced the greatest de corume, the Lodge was duly closed at High Twelve.

 

11th December 1835

This being the evening appointed by the RWM for the Nominations of Office Bearers for the ensuing Year the Lodge was opened by RWM Bro Morris Leon.

The nominations being made they would be put before open Lodge for approval.

Mr John Brown Knight having been properly recommended by RWM. Mr Knight was Entered.PS

Brother George Knight Frederick of St Stephens Lodge was initiated a Member of the Lodge.

 

28th December 1835

001.jpg  This being the Election of Office Bearers of Office Bearers, the Lodge was Opened, the RWM Declared all Offices opened, and that all Offices vacant. When the following Brethren were duly elected as Officers Bearers for the ensuing year:-

List of Office - Bearers ensuing year 1835 - 1836 

 

RWM Morris Leon
PM Alex Stewart
DM William Aitken
SM Arthur Muller
Senior Warden David Baptie
Junior Warden Hugh Brodie
Secretary William Duguid
Treasurer Alexander Aitken
Senior Deacon George Knight
Chaplain Charles Kidd
Junior Deacon William Wright
Grand Steward Adam Elphinston
2nd Standard Bearer Hugh Jardine
Inner Guard Vacant
Tyler John McLaren

 Angus McPherson Entry Guard or Outer Door Guard

Committee Members as follows:-

Bro Alex Mc Knight

Bro Hugh Graham

Bro Charles Kennedy

Bro Henry Hutchison

Bro William Allen

Mr Henry Hutchison Spirit merchant of Alison Square Edinburgh was approved as an Entered Apprentice.

The Following Brethren were Initiated Members of the Lodge:-

 

Bro Thomas Hopkirk

Bro John McLaren.

Bro Michael Brown

And they were admitted Members of the Lodge.

Then the following Brethren were admitted Members:-

Mary Chapel-1 Candidate’s Name Brother Alexander Deuchar

DOB 1777- August 1844. Address,  Other Offices St Mary’s Chapel No 1. Affiliated Member 28th December 1835. RWM of the Celtic Lodge was Brother Morris Leon 1835.

Lord Lyon King of Arms  Bro Alexander was the Seal Engraver and Lyon Herald at the Court of the Lord Lyon for Heraldry in Scotland.

Templar 6  Brother Alexander Deuchar Revived the Templar tradition in Scotland in the early 19th Century. The Deuchar family had been Jacobite but transferred their allegiance to the House of Hanover Hanoverian cause before 1745, when a prominent Jacobite, Lyon of Easter Ogil carried off the great sword of Deuchar the Sword was recovered after the Battle of Culloden in 1746 and in the possession of Alexander when he started his revival of the Templar 6 Scottish Knights Templar. The New Order started formally in 1805 when a Charter was issued to by the Grand Enc of IrelandGrand Encampment of Ireland previously the High Templar's of Ireland Lodge, under the title of the Edinburgh Encampment No 31. It became the Grand Assembly of the Knights Templar in Edinburgh. The Charter was granted 19th June 1811 for the Grang Conclave of the Knights of the Holy Temple and Sepulchre and of St John of Jerusalem, H.R.D.M + K.D.S.H.".

1st Kings Dragoon Guards  His Brother, David was in the 1st Regiment of Foot, the Royal Scots. Peninsular War 1808-1814 in the 3rd Battalion.

Since the mid nineteenth century myths, legends and anecdotes connecting the Templar's to the Battle of Bannockburn have created Degrees in Freemasonry, such as the Royal Order of Scotland. Allude to the ancient story of Rosslyn and the Scottish Knights Templar.

The Eight Pointed Cross of  the Scottish Knights Templar  The Cross Pattee of the Scottish K T  The Cross of the Grand Priory of the ScotsThe Eight Pointed Cross of The Scottish Knights Templar. The Cross Pattee of the  Templar 6 Scottish Knights Templar of the Commander of St Clair, Grand Priory of the Knights Templar in Scotland. The Cross of the Grand Priory of the Scots.


The Knights Templar in the early days of their History in Scotland were associated with Brother William Earl of Orkney Photo  St Clair 3rd Earl of Orkney and 1st Earl of Caithness who built 250px-Rosslyn Chapel Rosslyn Chapel. In the Rosslyn line and true tradition of our Brethren our next Brother William St Clair of Rosslyn who became the first Grand Lodge of Scotland Crest  Grand Master of Grand Lodge of Scotland and the great keeper of the true Secrets that has been handed down in the protection of our Knights Templar.

250px-Rosslyn Chapel  Who Built his Church with many forms of one who can follow the signs incorporated in its interior from the: Green Man  Green Man, Apprentice Pillar  Musical Notes, Fluer dethe Fleur de lis emblematic in the secrets, SAM 0586 the apprentice Pillar, SAM 0599  the wild Boar reflected in the Tree, Interior showing the Apprentice Pillar  the Templar Knights the inner sanctum sanctorum and not far away Temple Land who some say holds the secret of the inquisitive mind. The Templars were no doubt the first Bankers of the modern World assisting the weary traveller by depositing his Monet in his Home land and gaining a credit to be collected in another country thus he did not have to carry money or valuables on his person. And when he came Home he could cash in his credit. But there were many who wanted to control the Templars one King Philip 1V of France King Philip 1V of France who was deep in debit to the Templars and ordered a plot against them with Pope Clement V Pope Clement V and both of them tryed and confiscate their Riches and Secrets without success. The international Templar system worked From the Hugues de Paynes First Grand Master Hugues de Payens who along with our army of Templar's searched the Holy Land for the truth of our one true Son of our Great Architect of the Universe Jesus the Fisher of Men and his Great followers the  SAM 0593  Apostles who were Twelve in number and his most trusted one who could be the Keeper of the true dynasty some may say Blood line, Holy Grail, Ark of the Covenant only the one true of heart, only one who can be true to their faith and only one who’s charity knows no bounds, one may ask if the Knights found the truth and if not why do so many search for what every true Templar Knight keeps so close to their Heart.

So even to our last Jacques de molay Grand Master of the old age Templar Jacques de Molay 1244 - 18th March 1314 now recognised as Black Friday. In who's trust the Modern Templar's who escaped to the Four corners of the Globe and in to-days enlightenment the Templars still work in there Mystic ways and hold within them the True Secrets and only passed to the next Templar to hold until that Time comes for them to be revealed. By Bro BB.

 

Brother McDearmid.

Brother Thomas Campbell of Royal Arch No 163.

Brother Alexanderson of St John's Fisherrow Lodge were all affiliated Full members of the Celtic Lodge.

The RWM received Deputations from the following Sister Lodges:-

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Brother Decus of Cannongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2 and Ten Brethren.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Brother Fisher PM of Roman Eagle Lodge with Eight Brethren.

alt  Brother Livingston of St Andrew's Lodge with Three Brethren.

Brother A Deucher of St David's Lodge with Three Brethren.

Brother Muir with Three of our Brethren, visited St David's and St Andrew's Lodges, and reported that he was very flatteringly received in both Lodges.

 

Then the Brothers visited St Stephens and Journeyman Masons Lodges, and reported that the Deputations were very favourably received in Bother Lodges

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve by RWM.

 

18th January 1836

The Office Bearers and Committee met to Audit the Brother Treasurers Books accounts, receipts and expenditure. After careful examination of the same and comparison of his vouchers it appeared that the Lodge was indebted to him the Sum of two Pounds Three shillings and sixpence, which was found to be correct.

The Lodge being duly constituted by RWM the Following Brethren were Passed and Raised:-

Brother John Brown Knight.

Brother Henry Hutchison.

Brother Hugh Sinclair.

Brother Charles Cameron.

Were all Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Then Mr Archibald Yorkstone was properly recommended and approved was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Dalkeith Kilwinning No 10  Brother John Stewart of Dalkeith Kilwinning Lodge, and

Brother Ronaldson of Lodge No 663 English Constitution and Lodge No 570 in Ireland.

Were both admitted Honorary Members of the Celtic Lodge

After spending a happy evening the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

4th February 1836

Mr William Stringer Bell of Sheffield being properly recommended and approved was Entered, passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. Thereafter

Brother David Davidson who was entered was then passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

8th February 1836

Grand Lodge of Scotland CrestWaterloo Hotel this evening the Office Bearers of the lodge met in consequence of the Grand Lodge of Scotland

Theatre Royal 1830 - 1859  Visit to the Theatre Royal on the 23rd inst in Honour of Brother Murray the Manager of the Theatre. To walk in procession it was resolved that eighteen new aprons should made for this occasion and that the brethren who may be able to join the procession.

 

9th February 1836

Mr John Rollings of 15 Canal Street Edinburgh was approved in open Lodge was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. The Lodge was closed by RWM.

 

15th February 1836

Mr Mathew Matheson of North East Circus Place Edinburgh

Mr William Bairns Donaldson a Stationer of Hunter Square Edinburgh, were properly approved they were both Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

 

Also Brother John Boucher a Sergeant Major in the:-

5th Dragoon Guards  5th Dragoon Guards, of the:-

Lodge Kilwinning No 4  Lodge Kilwinning Glasgow No 4. Who being highly recommended was passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

16th February 1836

5th Dragoon Guards  Mr Thomas Alley Sergeant Major the 5th Dragoon Guards was approved and Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

alt  Brother J Walkerburn of St David's Lodge No 36.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Brother Alexander Stevenson of Lodge Defensive Band.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Brother Douglas Thomson of the Lodge Roman Eagle

Were all recommended by the Brothers present and admitted Honorary Members of the Lodge.

 

18th February 1836

5th Dragoon Guards  Mr Charles Hodgson a Corporal in the Fifth Dragoon Guards, having been approved was Entered Apprentice at High Twelve the Lodge was closed.

 

19th February 1836

Mr William Donaldson of No 63 South Bridge Street Edinburg was approved and duly Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

22nd February 1836

The Lodge met this evening and constituted by RWM.

Mr Robert Brown of 4 Howe Street Edinburgh

Mr Thomas Watson of 20 Heriot Place Edinburgh

Mr Charles Hodgson.

Mr Samuel Jackson a Sergeant of the 5th Dragoon Guards.

Mr Ramsay Mackillop of the Black Bull Hotel.

Mr William James of Shakespeare Square

All being properly recommended were E P and Raised, with the exception of Charles Hogdson who was entered.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Brother Charles Corstorphine of the Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 was made an Honorary Member of the Lodge.

Union and Crown No 307  Brother Grindlay of Union & Crown Glasgow, was made an Honorary Member of the Lodge

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

23rd February 1836

This evening the Members of the Lodge met and joined the Grand Lodge of Scotland, with other Sister Lodges in a Masonic procession to the Theatre Royal.

 

The procession was conducted in an orderly manner headed by the celebrated Band of the 5th Dragoon Guards to the entrance where they were received by Brother Murray of the Theatre.

 

The Celtic Lodge were of the number of One Hundred and Seventy, and were seated around the Grand Chair which was filled by the RW Depute Grand Master Lord Ramsay in the back part of the Pit,

 

Deputations from different Lodges occupied the deputation Boxes and other parts of the house, The Masonic emblems which were very numerous and splendid, combined with the Ladies.

 

After the performances which were highly amusing about thirty of the Members including the RW Master and other office Bearers partook of an excellent Supper in Brother Menzies establishment.

The evening was conducted in accordance with Masonic Rules.

 

1st March 1836

A meeting of the Members of the Committee of the Lodge was held this evening when the following Brethren were present:-

RWM Bro Morris Leon.

WDM Bro William Aitken.

WSW Bro D Baptie

WJW Hugh Brodie

Treasurer A Aitken

Secretary William Duguid

Chaplain Charles Kidd

Bro A Mc Pherson

Bro H Hutchison

Bro C Kennedy

Bro A Elphistone.

The first convivial meeting of the Lodge shall be held on Tuesday the 8th March 1836.

Thereafter the Secretary read a letter addressed to the RWM, by Brother Murray of the Theatre Royal, thanking the Lodge for their patronage on the evening of the 23rd February last, recorded in the minute Book, where of the following is a copy:-

Theatre Royal 24th February 1836 Sir's,

I take the earliest opportunity of the RWM and Office Bearers and Brethren of the Celtic Lodge for the honour conferred upon the Theatre last night by their patronage and support which I assure you will be remembered and acknowledged by Sir W H Murray.

2nd The Secretary shall attend in the Lodge Room at last half an hour before each meeting for the purpose of recording the transactions of the Lodge and transacting the other business connected with his office.

3rd In future the monthly meetings shall be held on the first Tuesday in each Month both for instruction and Initiations.

4th In consequence of the Act of Parliament for abolishing Imprisonment for Core Debits in Scotland not exceeding £8:6s and 8 pence. Contracted of the 9th September 1835 No Person shall be entered as a Member of the Lodge unless the fees of admission are along with his petition.

5th The necessary authority be granted by the office Bearers to the Treasurer to Prosecute for payment of the outstanding debts due to the Lodge.

Lastly the sum of Ten Shillings for annual be allowed to the Secretary for refurbishing paper, as of the 28th day of December 1835.

Thereafter a valuation of the Jewels furnished to the Lodge by the Brother Ronaldson under the head of Brother George Hogarth, was produced and referred to the committee, who in consideration of the payments made to account of his claim, awarded the Sum of 15 shillings in full of the balance of the account for making and refurbishing the Jewels as also of all other claims, which was accepted in the presence of the Committee of the Lodge discharged according, at High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due Form.

 

8th March 1836

Waterloo Hotel, This evening a convivial meeting of the Brethren was held when the Lodge favoured with the following Deputations:-

alt  RWM Brother McGill of St Andrew's Lodge No 48 and 10 Brethren.

St Stephens No 145  RWM Brother Geuke of St Stephen's Lodge and 6 Brethren.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  RWM Brother Marshall of Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 and 6 Brethren.

Mary Chapel-1  Brother Deuchars of St Mary's Chapel and 8 Brethren.

 

During the evening the Following were Entered, Passed and Raised:-

Mr James Thomson a Linen Manufacturer in Cannonmills Edinburgh.

Mr James Allan a Clothier of Hanover Street Edinburgh.

Mr James Peaston a Clothier Frederick Street Edinburgh.

After having spent a most agreeable evening, highly creditable to the Craft, The Lodge was closed at high Twelve.

 

5th April 1836

This was the regular monthly meeting in the Waterloo Hotel.

A lecture on the Apprentice Degree and the Origin and principals of the Craft, was given by Bro's Angus McPherson, Charles Kidd and Thomas Muir.

The rest of the evening was spent with great Masonic Harmony.

 

15th April 1836

This being the Last Convivial meeting, this Season,

alt  A Deputation from St Andrew's Lodge No 48 Headed their RWM.

The Brethren spent a happy night enjoyed the Mystic Harmony then separated at High Twelve.

 

19th April 1836

The RWM received a circular from the Secretary of the Lodge Mary's Chapel that the last Convivial meeting of their Lodge was to be held in Brother Pasctous Royal Exchange Coffee House, this evening.

Mary Chapel-1  A Deputation of the Celtic Lodge was headed by the RWM. Visited Mary's Chapel, on which occasion the RWM of Mary's Chapel proposed, in consequence of the exceptions of the RWM of the Lodge Celtic, to promote the cause of free Masonry and on account of his Sincere attachment of the Mystic Tie.

That he should be made an Honorary Member of the Lodge Mary's Chapel, which motion having been seconded by Bro Deucher Secretary.

The RWM Brother Morris Leon of the Celtic Lodge was Initiated an Honorary Member.

The evening spent in perfect accordance with Masonic Rules.

 

22nd April 1836

Waterloo Hotel the RWM Brother Leon and several of the brethren invited Brother Thomas Alley Sergeant Major 5th Dragoon Guards Piers Hill to supper in the Waterloo Hotel as a mark of respect for his Masonic conduct and attachment to the Mystic-tie in the interest and prosperity of the Celtic Lodge and the craft in general.

The evening was spent in a most harmonious manner and the supper was excellent reflected on the highest credit to Mr Scott as to variety and taste.

 

3rd May 1836

The Lodge was constituted by the RWM. Brother Angus Mc Pherson delivered a lecture on Free Masonry.

The RWM stated he received letters from Brother William Aitken and Brother Charles Kidd resigning their respective Offices in the Lodge, the letters were then read in open Lodge and accepted.

Thereafter a letter was read from Mr H Inglis WS Treasurer for the Royal Infirmary acknowledging receipt of the Two Guineas from our Treasurer, for Aid of the funds of the above institution, which Sum was in the name of the Managers, return to the Lodge their best thanks.

 

7th June 1836

Mr James Irving a Painter 49 Frederick Street Edinburgh.

Mr James Hepburn a Sprit Dealer of 77 Thistle Street Edinburgh.

Were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Thereafter in consequence of certain resignations the following were appointed to fill these Offices:-

Bro Muller Depute Master.

Bro Baptie Sub Master.

Bro Brodie S Warden.

Bro Hutchison J Warden.

Bro Wright Chaplain.

Bro William Donaldson S Deacon.

Bro R Brown J Deacon.

Before closing the Lodge

Mary Chapel-1  Bro David Deucher Secretary of Mary's Chapel No1 was unanimously admitted a Full Member of the Lodge.

 

13th July 1836

This evening those Present were as follows:-

RWM Bro Leon, Bro A Aitken, Bro Hutchison, Bro Kidd, Bro W Donaldson, Bro Duguid, Bro D Robertson, Bro R Brown.

The above subscribed for the testimonial to Bro William Aitken having met, and being of the opinion that it is full time the proposed mark of respect.

Intended to be given to Bro Aitken should be presented, resolved that a Silver Medal, with an inscription, the design to be fixed only the above subscribed, shall be given to him as early as the same can be got ready.

 

28th September 1836

RWM the inscription of the Presented to Bro W Aitken from the Brethren of the Lodge Celtic Edinburgh and Leith, as a Testimonial of their respect for his Zeal.

The Medal and Jewel were not ready in due time, as also a Tartan Silk Collar and Sash, there being sufficient funds to repay the expenses of these several articles. Signed as following Brothers Morris Leon, Henry Hutchison, James Stewart, Robert Brown, Robert Jeffrey, J Anderson, C Kidd, W Duguid Secretary

The Brother Secretary having addressed a Letter to the Right Honourable Lord Ramsay Depute Grand Master Mason of Scotland, requesting his Lordship to take the Chair on the 4th October next, when the Brethren intended to dine together in the Waterloo Hotel.

 

Received the following answer from Coalstown on Sept 23rd 1836

Dear Sir and Brother I have the honour to acknowledge your letter conveying to me the request of the Master and Brethren of the Celtic Lodge Edinburgh and Leith that I would attend their meeting on Tuesday the 4th October.

I regret that I cannot do myself the honour of being present on that occasion, as an Engagement there will prevent me leaving house on that day. I have the honour to be your obedient Servant Signed Bro Ramsay DGM.

Mary Chapel-1  The RWM received a letter from the RWM of Mary's Chapel No 1 Bro James Eahaus intimating that he had directed to his Secretary and Treasurer to take charge of a deputation on the evening of the 4th October 1836.

 

4th October 1836

RWM Bro Morris Leon in the Chair, after the meeting several of the Brethren dined together.

In the evening the Lodge held a convivial meeting when it was favoured by the Following Deputations:-

St Stephens No 145  Bro Ireland of St Stephens Lodge No 145.

Mary Chapel-1  Bro Brown St Mary's Chapel Lodge No1 

alt  Bro RWM Mc Gill St Andrew's Lodge No 48.

St Stephens No 145  Bro John Mc Gill RWM St Stephens Lodge, Bro John Nicol, Bro John Laird and Bro John Jardine they were made Members of St Stephens Lodge.

Union and Crown No 307  Peter McFarlane of the Union and Crown Lodge Glasgow. They were all initiated Members of the Celtic Lodge, with unanimous consent of the Brethren.

The RWM Bro Leon in a very appropriate speech, presented Bro William Aitken with a Handsome Silver Medal, to which was attached a Depute Masters Jewel, as also a Tartan Silk Collar and Satin Sash, as a mark of their respect from the Brethren of the Celtic Lodge, for his exceptions in the cause of the Craft.

Bro Aitken made a suitable reply. After spending a happy evening, the Lodge was closed in due form at High Twelve.

 

9th November 1836

The Lodge being duly constituted by RWM Bro Morris Leon,

Bro Leon stated that in a communicative from the Grand Secretary received on the 3rd, on the subject of the Centenary Procession, so that the Grand Lodge, may know how that part of the Ceremonial is to be supported, and to report for the information of the Committee, of the 11th inst-

The Brethren unanimously agreed to join the above Procession, and agreed to meet an hour before the meeting of the Grand Lodge, in their Lodge Room here.

In respect of the resignation of the Tyler Bro John McLaren the Brethren authorised the RWM to secure the services of Bro McKenzie, until the 27th December 1836, and to pay him the Sum of Ten Shillings, and his fees of Five Shillings.

The Circulars to be sent in future, Bro William Wilson of the Fuigal Lodge and:-

alt  Bro James Fergusson Walker of the Lodge St Andrew's, were with the unanimous consent of the Brethren made Members of the Lodge.

Thereafter Bros Walker, Fergusson and Menzies joined the Brethren at the Waterloo Hotel, and having been well recommended by

Bro James Ross was duly Entered Apprentices. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

14th November 1836

Mr Robert Kerr of 20 Rankeillor Street Edinburgh was E P and Raised

 

17th November 1836

Mr John Pringle of 17 North West Circus Place Edinburgh was E P and Raised.

Mr George Donaldson of 138 Pleasance Edinburgh was E, P and Raised, thereafter Bros Alexander Walker and Alexander Menzies were Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

23rd November 1836

At the Waterloo Hotel Edinburgh, Mr John Anderson of the Cafe Royal West Register Street Edinburgh, Mr Robert Blackwood a Clerk of 11 South Canal Street Edinburgh, Mr Joseph Marshall of the British Hotel Queens Street Edinburgh.

 

All being properly proposed were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Bro William Donaldson proposed to do what he could to procure a Highland Dress for the Tyler to ware on the occasion of the approaching procession 30th inst, on which account he received the unanimous thanks of the Brethren.

The Lodge having been offered several Sashes and Aprons at a considerable Sum less than they could procure from elsewhere from Bro David Ross Tailor of Warriston Place Edinburgh, purchased the same at the price of Two Pounds Ten Shillings, consisting as follows:-

Eight Silk Tartan Sashes, Eight Aprons, trimmed with Silk Tartan Ribbon and Seven Collars, which was unanimously approved, and the Treasurer authorised to pay the above Sum accordingly.

 

24th November 1836

Mr Antoine Vigues of the New Club St Andrew's Square Edinburgh having been properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Degree of a Master Mason.

RWM Bro Morris Leon reported it was agreed to insert an advertisement of the following description in the Scotsman Mercury and the Evening Post.

 

The Members agreed to join the procession of the Grand Lodge of Scotland. On the 30th November 1836, being the anniversary of Saint Andrew's Day, the Brethren will assemble in their Lodge Room at the Waterloo Hotel, on the above Day at 5 O'clock.

The Lodge will lie open every evening until Tuesday the 29th inst from 7 till 9 in order to initiate properly recommended Candidates.

Thereafter Bro John Anderson recommended Bro John Owens as a fit and proper person to be an Officer for the Lodge, who was allowed to Officiate on the occasion of the procession. The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

28th November 1836

This evening the lodge was duly constituted by RWM Brother Leon when the following belonging to the

9th Queens Royal lancers  Queens Ninth Royal Lancers presently at Piers Hill Barracks.

1 Abraham Philip Duly Master of the Band,

2 Thomas Males,

3 Charles King  

4 Richard Friskey,

5 George Vintin,

6 John Egen,

7 James English,

8 William McDonald

9 George Woodward,

10 Edward Harper,

11 Alexander King,

12 John McGuire

13 Richard Church,

14 John Shaiver,

15 John Tinsley,

16 James Addison                      

17 Fredrick Huiges,

18 Thomas Jones,

19 Joseph Vantreight.

All 19 members of the Band were properly recommended and consequence of the Centenary of Grand Lodge of Scotland they were all duly made Entered Apprentices the lodge was closed in due form.

 

29th November 1836

The Lodge was duly constituted by the RWM Bro Morris Leon.

Mr Archibald Little.

Mr Thomas Porter.

9th Queens Royal lancers  Both Lieutenants in the Queens Royal Ninth Lancers, presently stationed at Piershill Barracks, having been properly recommended were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

Mr Ralph Hardie Thomson a Wholesale Merchant Michell Street Leith Edinburgh.

Mr John Smith Bonar, Post Office in Leith Edinburgh.

Mr Robert Beverage Agent of 23 North Back of the Canongate Edinburgh.

Mr James Mitchell a Wine Merchant of 7 Regent Terrace Edinburgh.

Having been properly recommended were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons.

Brother Lockhart Frame of St John's Lodge Lanark was made a Full Member.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Brother James Blair of Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2 was made a Full Member.

Brother Bartholomew a Master Mason of the Lakes Lodge was made Full Member.

Brother Dr James Burnes a Provincial Grand Master Mason of Eastern Depend was made a Full Member.

Brother Alexander William Laurie, Grand Secretary was made a Full Member.

9th Queens Royal lancers  Brother James Nixon Macartney, Paymaster of the ninth Lancers was made a Full Member.

Brother Richard Cooke Adjunct Ninth Lancers was made a Full Member.

The Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

30th November 1836

The Lodge was constituted.

Mr John Dick of the Albion Clothing Company Edinburgh, and

Mr John Menzies Royal Saloon Waterloo Place Edinburgh.

Both being properly recommended were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons. Thereafter

9th Queens Royal lancers  Mr James Spraut and Mr Thomas Smith Both Farriers in the Ninth Lancers were Entered Apprentices.

The Celtic Lodge dined in the Royal Saloon, Thursday 30th inst, with several of the Brethren from the Country, and at 5 O'clock they met the Band of the Ninth Lancers, at the Waterloo Hotel.

Who accompanied most of the Members of the Celtic Lodge to in procession to the Royal Exchange where they joined the Grand Lodge procession and thereafter proceeded with the Grand Lodge and other Sister Lodges to the large rooms in the Waterloo Hotel, where the Festival of St Andrew's and the Centenary of the Grand Lodge was Celebrated.

 

Brother Lord Ramsay The Most Worshipful Grand Master Mason of Scotland in the Chair, supported by the Earl of Buchan, and other distinguishing Members.

There were about Nine hundred Brethren present. The evening was spent in the most harmonious manner, and the Lodge closed in due form at High Twelve, and the Brethren separated, all highly gratified.

 

27th December 1836

St Giles  The Lodge was constituted the RWM Bro Morris Leon.

Declared that all Offices of the Lodge were Vacant, and declined to stand longer as the RWM of the Lodge.

The Brethren proceeded to the Election of Office Bearers, when the following Brethren were duly elected to fill the Offices to their names respectively:-

 

RWM Brother Alexander Aitken.

WDP Brother Morris Leon.

WDM Brother H Donaldson.

WSM Brother John McGregor.

WS Warden Henry Hutchison.

WJ Warden James Irvine.

Treasurer Vacant.

Secretary Brother Robert Brown.

Chaplain Brother Charles Kidd.

Senior Deacon Brother John Pringle.

Junior Deacon Brother Robert Bevridge.

Great Steward Brother James Ledinghaw.

Tyler Brother Gust McKenzie.

Assistant Brother Owan.

Members of the Committee.

Brother William Baillie.

Brother George Donaldson.

Brother Robert Blackwood.

Brother Thomas Watson.

Brother Alexander Calder.

Brother James Allan.

Brother Alexander McKnight.

 

Thereafter the Lodge held a Convivial meeting, and in the course of the evening were honoured with Deputations from the Following Sister Lodges:-

Mary Chapel-1 Bro Deuchar of St Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1 and 3 Brethren.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2Bro James Burnes of Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2 and 7 Brethren.

St James Operative 97  Bro Rutherford of St James Operative Lodge No 97 and 3 Brethren.

 

  Bro Gaylor of Leith and Conongate Canongate and Leith No 5 and 3 Brethren.

alt  Bro Duncan of St David's Lodge No 36 and 3 Brethren.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Bro Anderson of Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 and 4 Brethren.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro Duguid of Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 and 3 Brethren.

alt  Bro Livingston of St Andrew's Lodge No 48 and 5 Brethren.

Bro's Leon, McKnight and Donaldson headed deputations who visited several Sister Lodges and reported favourable, the Lodge was Closed in due form.

Brother Livingston proposed that,

Bro Robert Walker and

alt Bro Peter Kay, of the Lodge St Andrew's should be admitted Honorary Members, which was done accordingly as also,

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Bro Randel Hazlehurst of the Edinburgh Defensive Band.

 

5th January 1837

Waterloo Hotel this evening the RWM Bro Alexander Aitken when the Following were made Masonic Brothers:-

9th Queens Royal lancers  Bro James Addison Good Riche, Band Member of the Ninth Lancers.

Bro John McGuire, Band Member of the Ninth Lancers.

Bro John Shaw, Band Member of the Ninth Lancers.

Bro Alexander King, Band Member of the Ninth Lancers.

All Brothers were Apprentices of the Lodge on 28th November 1836, were Passed to the Fellow of Craft and afterwards Raised to the Sublime Degree of master Masons.

At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

 6th February 1837

Waterloo Hotel This evening the office bearers and committee met to audit the treasurer’s accounts after careful examination of the same was found to be correct and a balance of ten pounds eighteen shillings in favour of the lodge upon the same evening Brother Leon was appointed Treasurer and Brother Hugh Brodie Secretary.

 

2nd March 1837

St James Operative 97  Celtic Lodge Room this evening the committee meeting was held to make arrangements for a convivial meeting on the 20th March 1837 after doing so the brethren preceded as a deputation to St James’s operative No 97.

 

20th March 1837

Celtic Lodge Room this evening the Lodge held a convivial meeting RWM Alexander Aitken in the chair when the following deputations were received

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Lodge Canongate Kilwinning No 2 Headed by RWM Brother J Deans.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Lodge Roman Eagle No 160 Headed by RWM Brother Bryce.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Edinburgh Defensive Band No151 Headed by RWM Brother Hutchinson.

alt  Lodge St Andrew’s No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Livingston.

St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephens Lodge No 145 headed by RWM Brother Monis

St James Operative 97  Lodge St James’s Operative No 97.                                                                                               

Bro D P Duly and Brother Thomas Mailes of the Ninth Lancers were passed to the fellow craft and Raised to the sublime degree of a Master Mason. The following Brothers were made full members of the Lodge Bro J S Bryce Bro J M Maver and M B Hutchinson all RW Masters of Lodges after spending a harmonious evening the Lodge was closed by RWM. In due form at high twelve

 

30th March 1837.

Brother Thomas Heydon of the Ninth Lancers was passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Mr Alexander Robertson was properly recommended and Entered, Passed and Raised to a Master mason

 

24th June 1837

Queen Victoria 3  Queen Victoria was proclaimed at:-

Mercat Cross  The Mercat Cross, the Castle and Holyrood House the young Queen Victoria was the daughter of Edward the Duke of Kent and Princess Victoria of Saxe-Coburg the young Princess was Born in Kensington Palace London on 24th May 1819.

 

27th August 1837

Celtic Lodge Room the committee met this evening.

The treasure having laid his books before the committee they found the sum of eighteen pounds four shillings and one half penny sterling.

 

The committee approved the report the RWM Brother Aitken proposed that the sum of two guineas be donated to the Royal Infirmary the motion seconded by Brother Hutcheson Brother John McGregor was unanimously elected a member of the committee.

 

24th November 1837

This evening the Lodge was Opened in due form when the following Brethren were properly recommended they were, Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Masons:-

Mr Hugh Lammie 1 Dean Terrace Edinburgh.

Hugh McDougal Waterloo Place Edinburgh.

Thomas Robertson Rose Street Edinburgh.

Mr Thomas Walker a Waiter Waterloo Place Edinburgh.

Mr James Leadingham Formerly Entered was Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

29th November 1837

The Lodge was opened in due form when,

Mr Neil McArthur a Waiter with Mr Robertson.

Being properly recommended was Entered Apprentice, at high Twelve the Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

30th November 1837.

Mr Donald Anderson an Auctioneer High Street Edinburgh was Entered Apprentice.

 

11th December 1837

Celtic Lodge Room.

This evening the Lodge was opened in due form, by RWM Bro Alexander Aitken in the Chair when the following individuals were Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons:-

Mr John Donaldson.

Mr Donald Menzies.

Thomas Bailie.

alt  Bro R Walker of the Lodge St Andrew was admitted a Full Member, and also,

Thistle and Rose No 169  Emanuel Eyekial A Member of Thistle and Rose Lodge Glasgow.

Both Brethren having paid their Fees of 5/- each at the same time it was moved by Bro Morris Leon that Bros

James Speed and R Pringle should be made Honorary Members of the Lodge for their attention on St Andrew's evening Festival it was agreed to and at High Twelve the Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

20th December 1837

This evening was the proposed Election of Office bearers the list to be read out on the 27th December 1837.

 

27th December 1837

18 Lodge Dunbarton Kilwinning No 18  This evening the Lodge was opened by RWM Bro Alexander Aitken for the purpose of Election of Office Bearers, for the ensuing year, when the following Office Bearers were duly Elected:-

 

RWM

Alexander Aitken

Past Master

Morris Leon

Substitute Master

Depute Master

Baillie Depute Master

William Donaldson

Senior Warden

Rob Henry Hutchison

Junior Warden

Rob James Pringle

Treasurer

Morris Leon

Secretary

Donald Anderson.

Senior Deacon

Bro Watson.

Junior Deacon

G Donaldson

Bible Bearer

Vacant

Grand Steward

Alexander Robertson

Chaplain

Bro Russell

Assistant

T Robertson and T Baillie

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

John McLaren

 
The Committee:-

Bro Hopkirk.

Bro Ramsay Mackillop.

Bro Anderson.

Bro A Thomson.

Bro D Thomson

Bro W Love.

Thereafter the Lodge held a Convivial Meeting the Lodge was Honoured by the Following Deputations:-

Mary Chapel-1  Bro Pearson Mary's Chapel Lodge No1.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Bro Wilson Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2.

St James Operative 97  Bro Anderson St James Lodge No 97.

St Stephens No 145  Bro Ireland St Stephens Lodge No 145.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Bro Hazlehurst Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Bro Duguid Roman Eagle Lodge No 160.

RWM proposed that:-

Bro Lasser Lemon of Glasgow should be admitted an Honorary Member of the Lodge, the usual obligation having been administered, the worthy Brother was there upon duly admitted.

After spending a happy evening at High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

4th January 1838 

A petition was read out on behalf of:-

Mr Moses Jacob with requisite recommendations He was Entered Apprentice Passed a Fellow of Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master mason.

Bro Levy being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master mason. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

23rd January 1838.

This evening the Lodge met for Auditing the Treasurers Books, when they were found all correct, and a balance of £15-11/- and 1/2 d in the hands of the Treasurer.

The RWM stated that he attended a meeting this day of the Grand Lodge, and they had come to the conclusion to go to the Theatre upon the 9th February 1838 to support the benefit in favour of the Infant School. The RWM stated that he thought that a Masonic Ball should take place upon the 22nd February 1838 and was agreed by all the Members present.

 

The Following Brethren were appointed a Committee to carry the arrangements:-

RWM Bro Leon, Donaldson, Hutchison, Pringle, T Baillie, G Donaldson, J Walker, W Love, W Hunter, R Rupell, Brown, Manuel, Watson and W Aitken.

 

7th February 1838

The Committee met to further the arrangements for the visit to the Theatre on the 9th February, it was agreed that the Lodge should meet in the Lodge Room at 6 O'clock and at a quarter past six they will move to the Theatre.

 

9th February 1838

The Committee met after making the necessary arrangements, they proceeded to the Theatre in Full Masonic Costume.

On this occasion the Celtic Lodge supported the Benefit on behalf of the Infant School, to the extent of nearly Ten Pounds.

 

19th February 1838

Celtic Lodge Room the Lodge having been opened in due form the following brethren were Entered, Passed, and Raised,

Brother Renwick Jackson,

Brother Abraham Mc Killop,

Brother Thomas Phillips the lodge was closed in due form.

The same evening the committee met to make further arrangements for the ball it was unanimously agreed that

Brother W Donaldson should be Master of ceremonies on that occasion on the 22nd February 1838 also to decorate the room thanks to Brother Donaldson for granting the use of Tartan cloth.

Also to Brother Aitken for the use of the banners from the Theatre Royal also to Brother Pearson of St Mary’s Lodge for the use of the chairs and the colours belonging to the said lodge.

The lodge was opened by RWM Brother Aitken he stated this being the evening of the Celtic Masonic Ball and Supper.

 

The RWM referred to the arrangements made by the committee for the occasion he could not allow this opportunity to pass without bringing notice to the members of the effort made. The lodge was then closed in due form.

The members then proceeded in full Masonic Costume to the side room in order to introduce the ladies to the Ball Room They were received by the master of Ceremonies with the band playing the Masonic Anthem and continued till twelve o’clock when the company returned to the supper room where upwards of one hundred sat down to excellent entertainment served up in Robertson style after many toasts being given the company returned to the ball room and kept up the dancing till early hour next morning when the company parted the ladies expressed a desire that the members of the Celtic Lodge be given the opportunity of joining them again in such a happy manner.

 

28th February 1838

At the Committee Meeting a vote of thanks from the RWM were given to all involved to the success of the ball RWM Brother Aitken. To Bro William Donaldson for his very effective services as Master of Ceremonies at the Ball on the 22nd Inst.

 

The RWM brought before the meeting the offer on the Pait of Mons " Philippe " to give a Benefit in favour of the Masonic School, the Committee were much Pleased with the Mons Philippe Liberality and unanimously agreed to the patronage the same, and authorizing the RWM to carry the same into effects, at High Twelve the Lodge was Closed.

 

3rd April 1838

Initiation of Mr John Edgar, being properly recommended was Entered Apprentice Mason.

The RWM put a Motion that the Following Bros be admitted Full Members of the Lodge:-

Bro Thomas Anderson.

Bro Patrick Atchison. And that the Following be admitted Honorary Members:-

Bro J Workman.

Bro J Reid.

Bro J Bell.

Bro William Black and the Following Deputations were received:-

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 Headed by RWM Bro Bryce.

alt  St Andrew Lodge No 48 Headed by RWM Notman.

Mary Chapel-1  Mary's Chapel No 1 Headed by RWM Bro Woodman.

On the Motion of the RWM and unanimously agreed to that the Following RWMs of Lodges Heading Deputations, should be made Full Members of the Celtic Lodge, without Fees.

On the Motion of Treasurer Bro Leon and unanimously agreed to admit:-

Bro Pearson of Mary's Chapel No 1 a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge without Fees.

After spending the evening in a harmonious and happy manner, at High Twelve the Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

13th April 1838

The Lodge met this evening Mr Dewar being duly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime of a Master Mason.

 

1st May 1838

The Lodge being duly opened Mr Edward Divine being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a master Mason.

 

15th May 1838

The Lodge being duly opened Mr Edward Ritchie being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master mason.

 

22nd May 1838

The Lodge being duly opened Mr Peter Divine being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master mason.

 

6th June 1838

The Lodge being duly opened Mr Robert Wright being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

18th June 1838

The Committee met and on the Motion of Bro H Hutchison and seconded by Bro Pringle and agreed to by the Brethren that the Celtic Lodge should Dine together on St John's Day in the Lodge Room and on the 24th June 1838 the Brethren did Celebrate the Festival of St John the Evangelist with great approbation being due to Bro Robertson for the handsome way in which the Dinner was served.

 

7th July 1838

The Lodge being opened in due form

Mr John Green Bisset and

Mr Thomas Bisset being properly recommended were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

 

8th August 1838

The request of the RWM to audit the Lodge Books, the Bro Treasurer did not appear nor did he send the Books. A letter date 8th August 1838 Sir- in consequence of your not coming to the Committee Meeting, I request to give you special notice to come or forward the Lodge Books on Monday 20th August 1838 at half past eight O'clock.

Brothers Jackson and Hannah were appointed Members of the Committee as Bros Love and Alex Robertson have left Edinburgh.

 

27th August 1838

The Committee met and proceeded to the business of the meeting, when the Treasures laid his Books before the Committee, they found on examination that there was in the hands of the Treasurer the Sum of Eighteen Pounds four Shillings and one half penny Sterling, which report the Committee approved of.

The RWM proposed the Sum of Two Guineas be given to the Royal Infirmary, which motion being seconded by Bro William Donaldson and was unanimously agreed to, On the motion of the RWM and seconded by Bro Henry Hutchison, Bro John McGregor was unanimously elected a Member of the Committee.

 

4th September 1838

Celtic Lodge Room this evening the lodge being duly opened by RWM. Initiate Joseph Carter Tobacconist in the High St being properly recommended was entered as apprentice Mason.

Thereafter the brethren entertained Brother J Boucher formerly Sergeant Major of the 5th Dragoon guards and a member of the Celtic Lodge to supper RWN Brother Tait and Brother Tierney secretary of the lodge No 7 holding on the Grand Lodge of Ireland and belonging to the 7th Dragoon Guards were admitted honorary member of the Celtic Lodge. At high twelve the lodge was closed in due form.

 

13th November 1838

Celtic Lodge room the lodge being duly opened by RWM Brother Aitken proceeded to hold their first convivial meeting for the season during the evening the following deputations honoured the meeting with their presence.

St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephens No 145 Headed by RWM Brother Aitken

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Defensive Band No151 Headed by RWM Brother Hutchison

7th Dragoon Guards  Lodge No 7 Holding of the Grand Lodge of Ireland of the 7th Dragoon Guards Headed by RWM Brother Tait

alt  Lodge St Andrews No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Autiman

Mary Chapel-1  Lodge Mary’s Chapel No1 Headed by RWM Brother Deucher

alt  Lodge St David’s No 36 Headed by RWM Brother Douglas

 After spending a harmonious and happy evening the lodge was closed at high twelve in due form

 

4th December 1838

Celtic Lodge Room 14 Waterloo Place Edinburgh The lodge was opened in due form by Brother John McGill with permission Brother Robert and Henry Banks was properly recommended were Apprenticed, Passed to the Fellow Craft and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason at high twelve the lodge was closed in due form

 

20th December 1838

The Office Bearers for the Ensuing year were put forward to the meeting on the 27th December 1838.

Thereafter Bro Peter Duncan of St Luks Lodge, Gilkinstone Aberdeen being proposed by Bro A Jackson and seconded by Bro Pringle, to be admitted a Full Member of the Lodge:-

Bro Pringle proposed and Bro Fisher seconded that

7th Dragoon Guards  RWM Bro Tait of the 7th Dragoon Guards be elected a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge, without Fees which was agreed. The Following Brethren were nominated Members of the Committee:-

Bro J Carter.

Bro J Anderson

Bro Hunter.

Bro J McGregor.

Mr Donald Ferguson of the Black Bull being properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

27th December 1838

Bag Piper 3  The Following Brethren were unanimously elected Office Bearers for the ensuing Year 1838-1839:-

 

RWM

William Donaldson

Past Master

Alexander Aitken

Substitute

Depute

Russell 

Baillie

Senior Warden

J Pringle

Junior Warden

Bro Watson

Treasurer

Henry Hutchison

Secretary

Donald Anderson.

Senior Deacon

George Hannah

Junior Deacon

J Edgar

Bible Bearer

Vacant

Grand Steward

R Jackson

Chaplain

Charles Kidd

Assistant

Vacant

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

John McLaren

 
The Committee:-

Bro Morris Leon

Bro John Anderson.

Bro Hunter.

Bro J McGregor

Bro Kev

Bro J Carter

Bro Allan.

 

The Office Bearers were invested with their Jewels of respective Offices.

The Lodge being opened by RWM Bro William Donaldson in the Chair, and the Following Deputations were received:-

Mary Chapel-1  Mary's Chapel No 1 Headed by Bro Graham of Leichtoun.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Headed by Bro Hutchison PM.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Canongate Kilwinning No 2 Headed by Bro Ireland.

St Stephens No 145  St Stephens Lodge No 145 Headed by Bro Peattie.

alt  St Andrew's Lodge No 48 Headed by Bro Crochet.

St James Operative 97  St James Lodge No 97 Headed by Bro Dunn

alt  St David's Lodge No 36 Headed by Bro Douglas.

St Luke's Lodge No 44 Headed by RWM Bro Richardson.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 Headed by Bro Fisher.

After spending a happy evening the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

8th January 1839

The Committee met to audit the Books, when they were Audited a balance of Six Pounds Twelve Shillings and Seven pence Sterling.

The RWM Bro William Donaldson moved a vote of thanks to the Late RWM Bro Alexander Aitken and Bro Morris Leon Late Treasurer for their conduct while in Office.

 

15th January 1839

Brother Joseph Neilson Dyer who had been entered was passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

The RWM proposed the Lodge should hold their annual Ball on Thursday the 14th February 1839, it was agreed that a supper should be supplied on the Night and that Tickets will be Priced at 3/- for every additional Lady, and that Tickets for Ladies and Gentlemen should not exceed 7/6, and a Committee will be formed to make arrangements.

 

22nd January 1839

The Lodge being duly opened the Following being recommended:-

Mr Quentin Cross of Hilltown Newton.

Mr John Hyne a Painter from Leith Edinburgh.

Mr William Grieg a Baker 22 Brunswick Street Edinburgh.

Mr Robert Donaldson a Tailor 21 High Street Edinburgh.

Were Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

 

5th February 1839

The Following were properly recommended:-

Mr Robert Hay a Dyer of Leith Walk Edinburgh.

Mr John Spottiswood 41 Frederick Street Edinburgh

Were Entered Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

6th February 1839

Mr John McRitchie Entered Passed and Raised

Mr Robert Christie Entered Passed and Raised.

Brother James Gravatt a Butcher of North Hanover Street Edinburgh was Passed and Raised.

 

11th February 1839

Mr Adam Cairns a Grocer 30 Rose Street Edinburgh was Entered Passed and Raised.

 

6th March 1839

The Committee met this evening for the purpose of considering the proposal of holding a Convivial meeting it was moved by Bro H Hutchison and seconded by Bro Pringle that the Convivial meeting was to be held on Thursday the 21st March 1839 and was unanimously agreed, and the Bro Secretary was instructed to give due notice thereof to the Brethren. 

 

21st March 1839

The Lodge been duly opened by the RWM Bro William Donaldson, proceeded to hold a Convivial Meeting.

The Lodge was Honoured in the course of the evening with Deputations from the Following Sister Lodges:-

Portobello No 226  Portobello Lodge No 226 Headed by RWM Bro Capt. Steel.

St James Operative 97  St James Lodge No 97 Headed By RWM Bro Ramage.

alt  St Andrew's Lodge No 48 Headed by RWM Bro Autman.

St Stephens No 145  St Stephens Lodge No145 Headed by RWM Bro Reid.

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 Headed by RWM Bro Boyce.

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Headed by RWM Bro Colquhounon.

Canongate and Leith Leith and Canongate Lodge No 5 Headed by RWM Bro Hervey.

Mary Chapel-1  Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1 Headed by RWM Bro Alexander.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2 Headed by RWM Bro Jardine.

After spending a very happy evening the Lodge was closed in due form at High Twelve.

 

29th March 1839

The Lodge was duly opened.

Bro Smart.

Bro Donald Stewart.

Were Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Thereafter it was moved by Bro Alexander Aitken and seconded by Bro Morris Leon, that the Office Bearers and other Members of the Celtic lodge should support the Grand Lodge on 8th April 1839 on the occasion of patronising Bro Murray with a visitation to the Theatre Royal Edinburgh.

Which motion was unanimously agree to, and Bro Donaldson, Bro Henry Hutchison and Bro Alexander Aitken were appointed as the Committee to carry out the arrangements.

 

17th May 1839

The Committee having met it was proposed by Bro Alexander Aitken and seconded by Bro Russell that the Banners made for the purpose of decorating the Theatre and to be retained as Lodge property, which the motion was unanimously agreed to.

A second motion was made by Bro Hunter and seconded by Bro Rupel that New Collars should be made for the Office Bearers Jewels which was also agreed to.

Orders were then given that the Collars be immediately got so as to be worn at the procession at Leith on the 23rd Inst.

 

22nd May 1839.

The Lodge was duly opened by RWM Bro Donaldson.

Brother George McDonald late Captain in the 52nd Regiment, formerly Entered Apprentice in

Portobello No 226  Portobello Lodge Passed Fellow Craft and was Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

14th June 1839

The Committee having met this evening it was revolved to invite the WPM Bro Aitken, to a Masonic Dinner on Monday the 24th June 1839.

This being the Festival of St John and in order to present Bro Aitken with a piece of Plate which had been subscribed for by the Brethren as a token of their respect for his services to the cause of Freemasonry.

 

13th September 1839

The Sub Committee appointed to provide accommodation for the Lodge having met, Present:-

Bro W Donaldson RWM

Bro Alex Aitken WPM

Bro H Hutchison Treasurer

After conferring with Bro Melvin Robertson he agreed that the Celtic Lodge should meet in the Lodge Room under the same regulations as formerly provided he could afford them sufficient accommodation, the Committee agreed to accept of Bro Robertson's offer in the meantime.

The Committee met the main Committee on the 27th September 1839 to report on their Meeting with Mr Robertson. After some discussion the Committee agreed with the Sub Committee to remain in the present Lodge Rooms.

 

5th November 1839

Mr John McGregor a Waiter of 14 Waterloo Place Edinburgh.

Mr Alexander Smith a Spirit Dealer of Kirkgate Leith Edinburgh

Both being recommended were Entered.

 

20th November 1839

This Evening the Nominations for RWM and Office Bearers was put forward for election on the 27th December's Meeting.


21st November 1839

Mr John Forsyth of No 1St John Hill Edinburgh was Entered Apprentice.

Thereafter Bro Alexander Smith was entered.

Both were Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.


28th November 1839

The Lodge being duly opened by RWM Bro W Donaldson,

Bro John McGregor formerly entered

Bro Abraham Brookes a Coach Maker at Princes Street Edinburgh. Formerly Entered Apprentice in Argyle Lodge No 64 Glasgow. Both were Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

Bro Alexander Aitken proposed and Bro Henry Hutchison seconded a motion that

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Bro Colquhoun RWM of Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 be elected a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge, Which was unanimously agreed to, also that

Bro George Anderson of No 17 Union Place C of Lodge, be admitted an Honorary Member which was agree to.

It was proposed and seconded that the Celtic Lodge should on an early day, hold a Convivial Meeting in Leith and Bro Gilfillan and Bro Hyne offered their services in making arrangements, which motion was also agreed to.

The RWM proposed that the thanks of the Lodge be given to Bro Gilfillan and Bro Hyne for the handsome way in which they tendered their services thereafter

Bro John Matthew a Baker of 56 Grand Lodge of Canongate was proposed as an Honorary Member of the Celtic Lodge, which was agreed to. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

2nd December 1839

This being the evening for Celebrating the Festival of St Andrew the Lodge sent a deputation amounting to Twenty One Headed by RWM Bro Donaldson to Visit the Grand Lodge of Scotland at the Assembly Rooms. 

 

13th December 1839

The Lodge being duly opened by the RWM Bro Donaldson,

Bro Gavin Jeffrey of St Andrew's Lodge No 388 English Constitution London. Was the Motion of the RWM seconded by Alexander Aitken be elected a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge, when he paid his Fees and took the usual Obligation. At High Twelve the Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

27th December 1839

1584 Lodge Cadder Freestone  Meeting in the Lodge Rooms 14 Waterloo Place Edinburgh.

The Lodge was opened by RWM Bro William Donaldson, Wardens and Office Bearers, and a Number of Brethren present.

The Lodge then proceeded to the Annual Elections of Office Bearers. The Jewels having been deposited with the PM, the Election proceeded when the following Brethren were appointed to their different Offices, and received their Jewels accordingly:-

 

RWM

William Donaldson

Depute Master

John Jardine

Past Master

Subs Master

 Alex Aitken

 Russell

Senior Warden

John Pringle

Junior Warden

John Edgar

Treasurer

Henry Hutchison

Secretary

John Allan

Senior Deacon

Abraham Brooks

Junior Deacon

Robert Donaldson

Bible Bearer

Vacant

Grand Steward

Renwick Jackson

Chaplain

Charles Kidd

Assistant

Vacant

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

John McLaren

 
The Committee:-

Bro Morris Leon PM

Bro John Anderson

Bro John Merrilees

Bro John Hyne

After a very Harmonious Election the Brethren held a Convivial Meeting for the purpose of receiving and sending Deputations the Sister Lodges.

Two Deputations having been sent out, they were headed by PM Bro Alexander Aitken and Bro John Merrilees.

When after Visiting 9 of the Sister Lodges in Edinburgh, When they returned and gave a very satisfactory Account of the continued prosperity of the Sister Lodges, and the way the Deputations were received by the Sister Lodges.

Deputations from Sister Lodges as Follows:-

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Lodge Canongate Kilwinning No 2 Headed by RWM Brother Leytoun

alt  Lodge St David’s No 36 Headed by Brother RWM Captain D Boswell

  • St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephen’s No 145 Brother D Mitchell SW
  • St James Operative 97  Lodge St James’s No 97 Headed by RWM Brother R Ramage
  • Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Headed by RWM Brother Colquhoun
  • alt  Lodge ST Andrew’s No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Notman
  • Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Lodge Roman Eagle No160 Headed by RWM Brother A Black

The Evening was Spent with the greatest harmony, the Lodge was close in due form.

 

5th January 1840

Friday the 10th January 1840 was appointed for the Convivial Meeting of the Celtic Lodge.

This evening Bro Abraham Brooks a Coach Builder Princes Street Edinburgh was Affiliate and after words Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason, which he paid the Sum of 5/- to the Bro Treasurer.

Bro Robertson agreed to furnish Supper to which the Brethren were to pay 2/- and 9 pence each.

The Evening was spent in the most harmonious manner.

10th January 1840

Celtic Lodge This evening having been appointed for the convivial meeting the lodge room was very taste fully decorated with banners and other Masonic Emblems which gave great satisfaction at ½ past 8 O’clock the lodge was opened by RWM Bro Donaldson and Worshipful Wardens.

A number of Brethren the Past Masters and several of the other office bearers being absent.

The lodge proceeded to work in due form before supper. The lodge room was filled to an overflow in as much that twenty brethren could not get admission.

The lodge was visited by the following sister lodge deputations:-

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Lodge Canongate Kilwinning No 2 Headed by RWM Brother Leytoun

Lodge Canongate and Leith L and C Headed by RWM Brother Gaytes

Dalkeith Kilwinning No 10  Lodge Peebles Kilwinning No Headed by RWM Brother A Donaldson PM

alt  Lodge St David’s No 36 Headed by Brother RWM Captain D Boswell

Lodge St John’s Fisherrow Brother McGillivray DM

St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephen’s No 145 Brother D Mitchell SW

St James Operative 97  Lodge St James’s No 97 Headed by RWM Brother R Ramage

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Headed by RWM Brother Colquhoun

alt  Lodge ST Andrew’s No 48 Headed by RWM Brother Notman

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Lodge Roman Eagle No160 Headed by RWM Brother A Black

 

 Everything having been done in proper order the Brethren where called from labour to refreshment the evening passed off in the most cordial manner several excellent songs were sung and the usual toasts given to the Master in a Brotherly manner.

 

Brother John Jackson attended with a party of the Glee singers and Bro McKenzie conducted the instrumental band all of which gave universal satisfaction tickets 3/- each the lodge was closed in due form.

 

23rd January 1840

St James Operative 97  The RWM along with 12 Brethren Headed a Deputation to St James Lodge No 97. When they were received in good form and then spent the evening with the greatest harmony, remaining till the Lodge was Closed in due form by the RWM Bro R Ramage at High Twelve.

 

30th January 1840

A Meeting was called this evening for the purpose of auditing the Treasurers Books. In the absence of the Secretary and the Minute Book the meeting was adjourned till Thursday the 5th February 1840.

 

31st January 1840

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Having received an invitation for the Celtic Lodge to visit the Roman Eagle Lodge No 160, this evening having given previous notice to the Brethren, he attended with a Deputation of fourteen.

The RWM Bro Black in the Chair the meeting was thinly attended with the Celtic Lodge being the only deputation present.

The evening was spent in a very happy manner. The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

5th February 1840

This being the evening to Audit Bro Treasurers Books.

Bro Treasurer in attendance along with several Committee Members, after which they proceeded to Audit the Books.

When upon carefully examining the Books, it was found that the different Terms and Vouchers were all perfectly correct.

Also that a Balance was due, the Treasurer of £1: 5/- : 9 1/2 pence Sterling.

The RWM then laid before the meeting a communication he had received from the RWM Bro J L Livingston intimating that from Circumstances, the Ancient Lodge of Edinburgh.

Would not be holding a Convivial Meeting at this Time to receive Deputations, as previously arranged.

There being no other business before the meeting, the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

18th February 1840 ll  According to previous Intimation, and having a very polite invitation to attend the St David's Lodge No 36 this evening it being there Convivial Meeting.

The RWM headed a very respectable Deputation and was well received.

RWM Bro Captain Donaldson Boswell being indisposed, PM Bro Thomas Miller ably fitted the Chair, Many songs were sang after supper, and the evening Spent with true Masonic feelings, the Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

28th February 1840

alt  This evening the Lodge met for the purpose of visiting the St Andrew Lodge No 48, a Deputation having been requested to attend their Convivial meeting of that Night.

Previous to the Deputation being formed the Celtic Lodge was opened by the RWM and several of the Brethren being Present.

On the Motion of Bro Hutchison Treasurer seconded by Bro Malcolm Robertson, that Bro J Macharg of St Machar Lodge No 54 Aberdeen, was duly admitted Honorary Member of the Lodge.

Also a Motion by Bro Hutchison seconded by RWM Bro W Donaldson the

Dunbar Castle Lodge No 75  Bro Andrew Murray of the Dunbar Castle Lodge No 75 Dunbar, be admitted a Member of the Lodge.

Both of which Motions were unanimous agreed and the two Brethren took the usual Obligations, after which the Lodge was closed.

 

The Brethren formed to the amount of Ten Headed by the RWM and proceeded on Deputation to the St Andrew Lodge.

The Lodge was held in the Carlton Ceremony Room the RWM Bro John Notman Junior in the Chair.

The evening was spent very happily, a great number being present of the Brethren and the Lodge closed in form at High Twelve.

 

9th March 1840

St Stephens No 145  The St Stephen's Lodge No 145 Edinburgh held their convivial meeting this evening, in Bro Paxton's Rooms Royal Exchange.

There was a very numerous Meeting, Deputations from most of the Sister Lodges of Edinburgh attended, and amongst the rest a Deputation from the Celtic Lodge Headed by the RWM with a Deputation of Ten of the Brethren.

The Celts were received with the most marked attention. The evening was kept up till High 12, in a most happy manner the RWM Bro W Reid closed the Lodge in due form.

 

12th March 1840

This evening a Meeting of the Committee was held, for devising ways and means for the continued prosperity of the Lodge.

A number of the Brethren having joined the Meeting, it was resolved to hold a Masonic Ball and the undersigned agreed to be present, time and place to be afterwards fixed upon.

Ticket's not to exceed 7/6 each, to admit a Lady and a Brother.

Bro W Donaldson RWM, Bro Morris Leon PM, Bro John Hyne Chaplain, Bro Alexander Calder, Bro R Jackson Grand Steward, Bro Henry Hutchison Treasurer, Bro M Robertson, Bro John Jardine Depute Master, Bro John Pringle SW, Bro R Shrivall, Bro Alexander Shaw, Bro Archibald Donaldson, Bro William Love, Bro Robert Donaldson, Bro John Anderson, Bro John Merrilees, Bro Robert Brown, Robert Kerr.

 

18th March 1840

The Grand Masonic Ball.

After several preliminary Meetings of the Subscribers it was finally resolved, that the Celtic Masonic Ball shall take place on Tuesday the 31st March 1840.

 

23rd March 1840

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Being the evening appointed for the Convivial Meeting of the Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151, it was held in the Caledonian Hotel Regent Bridge Edinburgh RWM Bro Colquhoun in the Chair.

There was a very full attendance of the Sister Lodges, and not the least was the Celtic Lodge which had a Deputation of 12 Headed by RWM.

The hilarity of the evening was kept up till High Twelve when the Lodge was Close.

 

31st March 1840.

Brother Malcolm Robertson Regent Hotel agreed to furnish supper and refreshments, with a parchment and Music, for the Sum before Mentioned Viz 7/6 Each Ticket.

 

31st March 1840

A petition duly signed presented in favour of:-

Mr D W Scott Esq residing at 13 Abbey, when he was admitted and initiated an Apprentice.

After which upon the Motion Bro Kidd Chaplain, seconded by Bro D Anderson.

3rd Dragoon Guards  Bro Edward Dean Troop Sergeant Major 3rd Dragoon Guards, and of the Lodge 396 holding of the Grand Lodge of England, was unanimously elected a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge he took the usual Obligation.

The Office Bearers in their respective places, in an adjoining the Carlton Rooms, when

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Bro Alexander Shaws of Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2

St James Operative 97  Bro Alexander Smith of St James Lodge No 97

 

Bro John Bathgate of Peebles Kilwinning Lodge No 24

Portobello Lodge 226  Bro Andrew Inglis Portobello Lodge No 226

Were admitted Members of the Lodge, upon the Motion of Bro Henry Hutchison Treasurer seconded by Bro Kidd, for their services rendered the Celtic Lodge all of which were unanimously agreed to.

When after giving three hearty Masonic songs for the prosperity of the Celtic Lodge, it was duly closed by the Master at High Twelve.

001.jpg  This being the evening of the 31st March 1840 and the Night of the Celtic Lodge Grand Ball. 

Bro Malcolm Robertson acquired the above Rooms to celebrate the Celtic Lodge's Annual Ball.

They were tastefully decorated with Masonic devices and Banners, with other Insignia of the Craft, set up expressly for this occasion.

Bro McKenzie and his excellent Band and gave universal satisfaction by the manner in which he conducted the Music during the evening.

Bro Malcolm Robertson's arrangements were such as reflected the highest credit and his taste, as a Brother of the Celtic Lodge.

 

The Supper, Wines and refreshments gave universal satisfaction to all present, and a vote of thanks was tendered to him by the Master and all present to Bro Robertson. He very handsomely acknowledged.

Dancing commenced at 1/2 past 9 pm, and was Kept up with great spirit, Catch Reels Country Dance and quadrilles with Waltz's, Kept all in good hummer till 1/2 past 4 O'clock, in the Hunt the Gawk, same very amusing hits were played off in reference to the first April, which taken in good part by all present, more especially by the Ladies, who seemed all highly delighted with the evening's entertainment.

Supper was served at 1 O' Clock after which Tea and Coffee, with fruit and a goodly supply of Wines, and a plentiful supply of the real Mountain Dues and Toddy.

 

During the evening several Brethren from Sister Lodges visited the Celts and joined heartily in Conviviality of the Dance, ect.

There were 36 Brethren present and about the same number of Ladies. The following is a List of Brethren present:-

Bro William Donaldson RWM, Bro John Pringle Senior Warden, Bro John Edgar Junior Warden, Bro John Jardine D Master, Bro Henry Hutchison Treasurer, Bro Renwick Jackson G Steward, Bro Robert Donaldson Senior Deacon, Bro John Merrilees MC, Bro John Hyne MC, Bro Archibald Donaldson. Peebles, Bro Charles Kidd Chaplain, Bro Alexander Calder, Bro James Spottiswood,  Bro John Anderson, Bro M Robertson, Bro J Robertson, Bro Donald Sinclair, Bro Donald Anderson, Bro J L Pritchard, Bro Robert Shrivall, Bro Abraham Brooks, Bro Lieutenant Alexander Shaw, Bro John Bathgate. Peebles, Bro John Begg of St Machar, Aberdeen, Bro J R Duncan of London, Bro Andrew Inglis of Portobello, Bro David Mitchell Junior, Bro Rt Hon Bro Robert Brown, Bro William Love, Bro A Thomson, Bro Alexander Smith, Bro John McGregor, Bro C Casper, Bro A Gardiner, Bro J Stewart. Bro John McLaren Tyler all their Good Ladies.

 

The evening ended in the most Masonic way with Toasts to Queen Victoria and the Craft. Then they left into the Mystic Night.

 

7th April 1840

Being the Night appointed for the Leith and Canongate Lodge No 5, Convivial Meeting, it was celebrated in their own Lodge Room at Constitution Street Leith Edinburgh, RWM Bro Gayles in the Chair.

11 of the Celts attended Headed by RWM, and spent a very happy evening, at High Twelve the Lodge was closed, and the Brethren returned to Town.

 

9th April 1840

A petition duly signed was presented in favour of:-

3rd Dragoon Guards  Troop Sergeant Major John Russell of the 3rd Dragoon Guards he was admitted and Enter Apprentice.

Brother Seal, (Clown at Cooks Circus) having applied for patronage of the Sister Lodges at his Benefit.

The Brethren of the Celtic Lodge agreed to send a Deputation in Honour of the Brother.

This being the evening appointed there was a large Deputation Headed by the RWM, all in the Costume of the Lodge, Three of the Brethren appeared in Full Regimentals and Bro D W Scott in the full Highland Costume.

Nearly thirty of the Brethren were present and occupied the two Deputations Boxes, in the left of the Centre, which was dressed for the occasion with the Shield and Banner of the Lodge.

The Celts were highly complimented on their appearance, for which see the Newspapers of the Day.

 

13th April 1840

Two petitions were presented in favour of:-

3rd Dragoon Guards  Bro John Russell Sergeant Major Richard Maloney Paymaster Sergeant Henry Pratt serving in the 3rd Dragoon Guards the petitions being duly signed and received by the Lodge. Maloney and Pratt were duly Entered Apprentices.

Thereafter the Lodge being duly Raised, Bro Maloney, Bro Pratt, Bro D W Scott, (refer to the Minutes 31st March and 9th April 1840)

All of which having served some time as apprentices were Passed Fellow Crafts and Raised to the Sublime Degree of  Master Masons.

 

On the Motion of Bro Hutchison seconded by Bro Kidd, Bro Thomas Carey of Lodge 396 holding the Grand Lodge of England was admitted a Full Member of the Lodge without Fees, for services due to the Lodge.

There being no other matter before the Lodge, the Brethren spent a couple of hours very happily together the health's of the young Brethren were given by the Master and responded to in true Masonic honours by the Brethren present,

Bro Maloney in the name of himself and his young Brethren, returned thanks in a very neat and Complimentary Speech.

After which the Lodge was duly closed at High 12.

 

14th April 1840

The RWM received the notice for an invitation for Thursday 16th April 1840 at 5 O'clock.

A number of the Brethren having expressed a wish to pass the Chair, he the RWM requested 70 Circulars for Thursdays Meeting were sent and the following is a copy of the notice sent.

The Brethren are requested to meet in the Lodge Room on Thursday the 10th at 5 O'clock for Initiation.

At 7 O'clock precisely a Lodge of Past Masters will be held, to give an opportunity to those Brethren to pass the Chair of the Celtic Lodge, who may not already have done so.

 

I am yours fraternally

William Donaldson RWM.

 

16th April 1840

The Lodge having been duly opened by RWM and Office Bearers same of which was present at 5 O'clock.

A petition was presented in favour of Hospital Sergeant Walter Halland duly singed recommending him as a person qualified to receive Masonic privileges.

He was admitted and in consequence of his being about to leave Scotland, he was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

The Time had now arrived accreting to the Circular above alluded to, for opening a Lodge of Past masters, which was done by the RWM.

 

14 of the Brethren of the Celtic Lodge passed the Chair in due Form. The brethren afterwards in a Room adjoining the Lodge Room, together to the amount of 25 and spent the Evening in truly Masonic style, the song and toast with Masonic honours, made the hours pass lightly till High Twelve when the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

1st May 1840

A petition duly signed was presented in favour of:-

3rd Dragoon Guards  George Strickland, 3rd Dragoon Guards residing at Piershill Barracks.

Also another Petition in favour of:-

Mr Charles Coleman a Master Tailor of the Queens Bays at present residing at Piershill Barracks.

When they were both admitted as being worthy to receive the Mysteries of the Craft, and were initiated in the First as Apprentices, Passed to the Fellow Craft then raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons. After which the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

23rd April 1840

The RWM being in the Country, the Lodge was opened by Pass Master Bro Morris Leon.

When petition duly singed was presented in favour of:-

Mr Pineas Dimont

Mr John Elssebburgh of Liverpool

In consequence of their Leaving to Cave Town in the Morning, they were this evening Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons. When the Lodge was closed in due form

 

11th June 1840

The Lodge received a petition duly signed in favour of:-

Mr Peter Burns a Flesher residing at 11 Leopold Place Edinburgh. When he was duly Entered Apprentice.

The Meeting then took into their consideration a proposal submitted to them in regard renting the side Room of the Grand Lodge of Scotland along with other Sister Lodges, as a Celtic lodge Room.

Bro Pringle seconded by Bro Edgar moved that the present accommodation quite sufficient for the wants of the Celtic Lodge. Which Motion was carried unanimously.

 

It was also Moved and seconded that the Brethren dine in their Lodge Room on the 24th June 1840, according to Custom that being Summer St John's Day, which motion was also carried.

After spending a very pleasant evening the Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

18th June 1840

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  The Lodge received a communication from the RWM of Canongate Killwining Lodge No 2 requesting a Deputation for the evening of the 25th June 1840. It was remitted to the RWM to Act in Both matters as circumstances require.

 

25th June 1840

14 of the Brethren signified their intention to Dine together. They met at 5 O'clock, when after partaking of an excellent Dinner in Bro Robertson's best style. They spent the afternoon in true Masonic Glee.

After which the RWM formed a Deputation to visit the Lodge Canongate Kilwinning, this being the Day of the Election and holding a Convivial Meeting for Deputations in the evening.

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  At 1/2 past 8 O'clock the Master Headed a Deputation of 15 to the Lodge Canongate, where they were kindly received with due Masonic Honours.

RWM Bro Aytaun was unanimously Re-Elected and seated in the Chair of Solomon.

After partaking of supper and the usual Toasts, had come our length, RWM Bro Aytaun proposed in a Bumper prosperity to the Celtic Lodge, and in a very flattering manner Mentioned the unanimity that prevailed amongst the Sister Lodges, the Celtic Lodge, for ether praise in his Masonic carer whenever he visited or received visitors, there was the Celts always in large numbers gracing the meetings with the National Grab.

 

The Toast was well received by the Brethren present to the amount of 100 from the Sister Lodges of Edinburgh.

After a suitable reply by Worshipful Bro Donaldson, and the evening having been spent with greatest good feelings, Worshipful Bro Aytaun Closed the Lodge in Due form.

 

30th June 1840 

Celtic Lodge Room the lodge being opened by RWM several of the committee present they proceeded to inspect the Regalia of the lodge it was in good repair as the lodge would need to use the Regalia at the forth coming procession to lay the foundation stone at the Cenotaph to Sir Walter Scott on 15th day of August 1840.

It was proposed by PM Brother Leon that the lodge provide 12 new aprons for the office bearers of the lodge seconded by Brother Allan secretary, and unanimously agreed.

 

The plan of Procession, Submitted to the Masters of the Sister Lodges, by the RWM of the Celtic Lodge, and agreed to by them to be adopted for the uniformity of the Lodges at the Coming Procession, to as next exhibited to the meeting, which was also much approved of, It is as follows:-

Brother Tyler - With a Sword.

Youngest Brother Mason - With the Mallet.

Brethren - By Three.

Standard - Bearers.

Brethren - By Three.

Grand - Steward with Rod.

Brother Junior Deacon - Brother Senior Deacon.

Brother Secretary - Brother Treasurer.

Depute Master - Past Masters, Chaplain.

Brother Junior Warden - Brother Senior Warden.

RW - Master with Rod.

Brother Tyler's - With Swords

The RWM then Mentioned that he had carried a Motion in the Grand Committee, to the effect, that all Lodges should be properly represented in Grand Lodge, at Public Processions and more especially, at the Laying of Foundation Stones.

In as much that when the Junior Lodges shall have arrived at the Stone and taken open orders, and when the Grand Lodge proceeds to the Stone through the Centre, each Master and his Wardens, shall when the Grand Lodge arrives, at his place in the procession their shall take his place according to his number on the Roll, and represent his Lodge at the Stone.

 

The Lodge was Charge of Past Master and in his absence to the Depute Master. When on returning from the Ceremony the Master and Wardens shall again take their respective places in their Lodge, and return in invested order.

After represented their Lodge in proper form Bro Morris Leon PM, proposed that:-

Glasgow Kilwinning No 4  Bro Joseph Pennington of the Kilwinning Lodge No 4 Glasgow be admitted an Honorary Member of the Celtic Lodge. Headed by James Allan Secretary and unanimously agreed to.

There being no other business before the Lodge, the evening was spent with true and real Masonic feelings.

Bro Pennington sang some excellent songs, which was well received by the Brethren present, and they drank a bumper toast to his health with Masonic Honours.

The Lodge was closed by the RWM at High Twelve in due form.

 

7th July 1840

The Advertisements inserted in three of the Edinburgh News Papers.

Stating that the Celtic Lodge, will be Open every Tuesday and Friday evenings. To Initiate properly recommended Candidates, having had a very good effect, in as much several of the Brethren have met both the RWM on the evening, and this being the night appointed by advertisement.

A Petition duly signed in favour of:-

Mr William Murray at the London Hotel Edinburgh, when he was duly Enter Apprentice. After which the Lodge was raised.

Bro W Murray.

Bro John Dick of Albion Closing Company was initiated in this Lodge on 30th November 1836. Having Paid his Fees of £2: 3: 6, at the Time of and:-

Bro Peter Burns Entered Apprentice on 11th June 1840. Were Passed then Raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons.

After spending a very agreeable evening and there being no other business before the meeting the Lodge was closed in due form.

 

10th July 1840

A Petition duly signed was read by the Senior Warden in favour of:-

Mr Edward Aitken Davidson residing at the Turf Hotel Princes Street Edinburgh when he was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

Three petitions having been presented, the RWM again opened the Lodge, and proceeded to examine the petitions seriatim, when they were found duly signed. The First was in favour of:-

Mr David Dobson a Cabinet Maker in St Patrick Square Edinburgh.

Mr Gilbert McCrindle a Waiter with Bro Robertson, to attend the Lodge for which he paid the Sum of 5/- as Fees.

Mr Dominicus Ferenback a Clock Maker in Nicholson Street Edinburgh.

The Three were then admitted into the Lodge and Entered Apprentices. After Which the Lodge was closed.

 

14th July 1840

Brother Ferenbach who was entered at the Last Meeting, was then passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

There being no other matters the Lodge was Closed in due form.

 

17th July 1840

The Lodge was duly constituted by the RWM, there being several of the Office Bearers and Members of the Committee and Members of the Lodge present.

There being no business of any importance before the meeting. The RWM closed the Lodge at High Twelve.

 

21st July 1840

The RWM had Circulars out to the Brethren, to meet and discuss the Bye Laws all the Office Bearers appeared in their places except the Depute Master Bro Jardine, who sent a written apology. Bro Jardine was sent notice advising him of his attendance at the next Meeting otherwise another would be appointed in his place as Bye Laws Direct.

It was moved by past Master Bro Aitken seconded by Bro Leiky, that the Lodge should have a Flag or Flags to appear with The Lodge at the forthcoming procession.

A counter motion was moved by Bro Allan Seconded by the Treasurer Bro Hutchison, that there should be an addition made to Sub Committee to consider of this and other matter relative to the Regalia and to report at the next General Meeting of the Lodge to be called by circulars, for Tuesday 28th July 1840.

No other matters coming before the meeting the Lodge was closed in due Form at High Twelve.

 

22nd July 1840

A petition was duly presented in favour of:-

Mr William Sutton Hotham a Commercial Agent of Rye Hill Newcastle, who was admitted into the Lodge, Entered Apprentice, Afterwards Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

After which Bro John Donaldson of St John's Kilwinning Lodge No 57 Haddington, was admitted an Honorary Member of the Lodge. The Lodge was closed accordingly.

 

24th July 1840

There being no particular business, it was considered unnecessary to open the Lodge. After spending a happy hour together the Brethren separated for the evening.

 

28th July 1840

This evening petitions were presented in favour of:-

Mr Gilbert Gavison.

Mr John Gibson.

They were both Entered Passed and paid their Fees.

The RWM made a report from the Sub Committee on the Regalia which was highly approved of he also stated that there was sufficient funds for a White Silk Flag, which was agreed to unanimously.

 

Brother Wilson of St John's Lodge No 20 Lesmahagow was made an Honorary Member.

Brother Ed Main of St John's Lodge No 20 Lesmahagow was also admitted an Honorary Member.

The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

31st July 1840

A Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr Hugh Robertson after which he was duly Entered Apprentice and Paid the Sum of 5/-.

A Petition was again presented in favour of:-

Mr William Wells a Tea Merchant North Bridge Edinburgh, after which he was duly Entered Apprentice.

The Lodge was then duly raised and Brother William Wells was passed to the Fellow Craft Degree.

The Following Brethren Bro Dobson, Bro John Gibson, Bro Gilbert Gavison and Bro William Wells were raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Masons

 

It was moved by Bro Kidd and seconded by Bro Le Roy that:-

Bro Francis Mackenzie Bain, be admitted an Honorary Member which was unanimously agreed to, he was admitted accordingly.

It was moved by Bro Pringle seconded by Bro Edgar, that:-

Bro John Ferney be admitted an Honorary Member which was unanimously agreed to, he was admitted accordingly.

The Brethren having spent a happy hour together, the Lodge was closed.

 

4th August 1840

A Petition having been presented in due form for:-

Mr John Robertson properly recommended, he was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

 

Afterwards proposed by Bro Kidd, seconded by Bro Edgar that:-

St Stephens No 145  Bro Thomas Matheson of St Stephens Lodge No 145 be made a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge, Bro Matheson then took his Obligation and accordingly admitted.

 

11th August 1840

The Lodge was opened in due form at 1/2 past 4 pm by RWM a Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr W R Kirkwood was properly recommended and Entered Passed and Raised.

A petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr Francis Oliphant properly recommended he was Entered Apprentice.

Bro Merrilees proposed seconded by Bro Leon that:-

alt  Bro Nichol of St Andrew's Lodge No 48 be Affiliated to the Celtic Lodge, he accordingly took the Obligation and Paid his Fee of 5/-, to Bro Secretary,

Bro Hutchison proposed Bro Somerville of St David's Lodge No 36 to be an Honorary Member,

Bro Allan proposed Bro Gardiner of St John's Lodge No 26 Dunfermline to be an Honorary Member, they were both unanimously elected and took their Obligation accordingly.

Bro Ferenbach Paid his Fee of £2:3:6 pence to the RWM the Lodge was closed on due form.

 

13th August 1840

This evening a Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr George White properly recommended he was Entered, Passed and Raised

There after Bro Francis Oliphant having served some time as apprentice was Passed and Raised.

The Lodge having been reduced, The RWM read over the Grand Lodge Rules for the Procession. Bro Wells Paid his Fees.

 

14th August 1840

A Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr Peter MacKinlay who was properly recommended was Entered Passed and Raised.

After which Two other Petitions were presented in favour of:-

Mr William Child Reekie.

Mr Edward Nixon. Both were properly recommended Entered Apprentices, Paid their Fees to Bro Secretary.

The Lodge was closed at High Twelve.

 

15th August 1840

Sri Walter Scott 2  Edinburgh Scott Monument  Celtic Lodge met at 11o’clock this being the day of the Masonic Procession for laying the foundation stone in the Cenotaph in honour of Brother Sir Walter Scott.

 

The Lodge was opened at the above hour by RWM when petitions were presented in favour of:-

Mr George Alexander Donaldson and

Mr Jas Thomson of Charlotte Place Edinburgh both were made Entered apprentices the rest of the degrees being left till next meeting.

 

The rest of the brethren put themselves in the hands of the RWM who then went in procession to the quadrangle of the University to join The Grand Lodge and other Sister Lodges.

There was a full attendance of Members of the Celtic Lodge after the procession they proceeded to the University where the brethren of the Celtic Lodge Had dinner together, at ½ past 5pm in the Carlton convening rooms the RWM in the Chair during the evening the following deputations were received:-

Lodge Elgin No 91 Brother Lochtic PM

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Lodge Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 RWM Brother Williams

alt  Lodge St Mungo Glasgow No 27 Headed by RW Master

St Stephens No 145  Lodge St Stephens No 145 Headed by Brother Munro PM

Dunbar Castle Lodge No 75  Lodge Dunbar Castle No75 Headed by RWM Brother Hume

Lodge Haddington Kilwinning No 53 Headed by RWM Brother Shields

St James Operative 97  Lodge St James No 97 Headed by RWM Brother Kemp

Dundee Thistle Lodge No 158  Lodge Dundee Thistle Headed by RWM Brother Watt

 

  Lodge Dunkeld Operative No152 Headed by RWM Brother Jack

 

Previous to Dinner, the Lodge was opened, in an adjoining Room when:-

Mr John Lindsay Donaldson was Entered Apprentice.

After a Mystic evening the lodge was closed in due form.

 

15th August 1840 Continued,

The Scott Monument Foundation Stone was laid.  

The Monument a Gothic design was created by architect George Meikle Kemp The statue of Sir Walter Scott is by John Steele RAS the Monument was Formerly Inaugurated on 17 August 1846 George Meikle Kemp did not live to see the completion of the Monument He drowned in an accident in the Union Canal 0n 6th March 1846.

 

18th August 1840

The Lodge was opened by Past Master Bro Morris Leon, in the absence of the RWM. A Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr John MacLauchlan properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason. He then Paid his Fees.

Brothers Reikie, Nixon and Thomson have each served some time as apprentices were Passed and Raised. The Brethren having enjoyed a Harmony for an hour, The Lodge was closed in due form.

 

21st August 1840

A Petition having been presented in favour of:-

Mr Henry Caw MacDonald who was entered, and paid his Fees to Bro Treasurer.

 

22nd August 1840

The RWM opened the Lodge in due form, when a petition was presented in favour of:-

alt  Mr Miles a Master Tailor of the 2nd Dragoon Guards, was Entered, Passed and Raised. Then he paid his Fees of £1-5/- with 2/6 for a Diploma.

 

4th September 1840

Grand Lodge of Ireland  Brother Charles Darling of the Grand Master Lodge of Ireland, was on the Motion of Bro Beattie seconded by Bro Stewart was unanimously elected a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge. The Lodge was closed in due form

 

21st September 1840

The Lodge was opened by RWM Bro William Donaldson, when a petition was presented by:-

Mr Francis Beut was properly recommended and accordingly Entered Passed and Raised he then paid his Fees, also 10/6 for a Grand Lodge Diploma.

Bro H Hutchison proposed that bro Henry Ellis of the Lodge Sinceriti Buint de bevey of Switzerland, should be admitted a Full Member of the Celtic Lodge which was second by Bro M Leon and he was accordingly admitted unanimously by the Brethren.

Brothers Beut and Ellis were presented 5/- each for the charitable purposes. The Lodge then closed at High Twelve.

 

25th September 1840

Mr Thomas Cochrane of North Bridge Edinburgh was properly recommended was Entered, Passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Thereafter Bro M Leon proposed and Bro Dickson seconded that Bro David Duncan a Lithographer in the High Street Edinburgh, be elected an Honorary Member of the Celtic Lodge which was carried unanimously.

 

9th October 1840

A Petition was then presented properly in favour of:

Mr William C Pool of No 3 North St James Street was Entered Passed and Raised.

After having unanimously Elected Brother William Alexander, and

Brother David Hay of St Stephens Lodge No 145, Honorary Members. The Lodge was closed in due Masonic form

 

13th October 1840

The Lodge agreed to patronize Bro Robert Shisval at his Benefit at the Theatre the evening. A great number of the Brethren was present and proceeded to the Theatre, which was tastefully decorated with the Flags, Banners and other Regalia of the Lodge. The Brethren with their Ladies filled neatly in to all the due Boxes.

 

14th October 1840

The Lodge having met for a Lodge of Instruction was first opened by RWM, when a number of the Brethren Passed the Chair and well-made Mark Masonry.

The Brethren afterwards dined together and passed a very happy night with true Masonic feeling and separated at High Twelve.

 

16th October 1840

A Petition was presented in due favour for:-

Mr George Ballantine a Grocer of South Bridge Edinburgh was properly recommended and Entered Passed and Raised.

 

Then a Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr R Rombach 4 South Bridge Edinburgh was recommended and Entered Passed and Raised.

alt  Bro George Vallanei of the St Andrew's Lodge No 48.

St James Operative 97  Bro James McPherson of St James Lodge No 97 both were then admitted Honorary Members of the Celtic Lodge.

 

22nd November 1840

On the Motion of the RWM it was unanimously resolved that the Regalia of the Office Bearers of the Lodge should be deposited in a Box separate from the Other Clothing of the Lodge.

Bro Dobson very handsomely offered a Box for the above purpose which was accepted with thanks to the Donation.

 

26th November 1840

A Petition was presented in favour of:-

Mr John Bailey being properly recommended was along with the following Belonging to the Band of the

alt  2nd Dragoon Guards who were made by desire of the Grand Lodge of Scotland:-

Mr S Tuckwell Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr J Clark Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr H Bradshaw Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr George Chapman Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr A Davis Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr H Bowles Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr James Byrne Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr E Fisher Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr John Dudley Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr Thomas Chapman Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr L McGrath Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr A Brown Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr J Murphy Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr A Simpson Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

Mr William Flyfield Band Member 2nd Dragoon Guards.

All being recommended were Entered Apprentices.

The Brethren after enjoying a memorable evening the Lodge closed at High Twelve.

 

30th November 1840

Celtic Lodge this being the evening appointed for the festival of St Andrew upwards of forty Brethren headed by the RWM went in procession accompanied by the band of the 2nd Dragoon Guards to the assembly Rooms.

When they found that owing to some bad arrangements in the planning of the Room, they could not be all accommodated and not being desirous to be separate they were under the necessary of returning to their own Lodge Room.

Were afterwards they returned to the Celtic Lodge Rooms where they spent the night with song and instrumental Harmony to the satisfaction of the brethren the lodge was closed at high twelve. (Some confusion over admittance to Grand Lodge)

 

4th December 1840

The Lodge was duly opened by the RWM.

Bro James Black who was formerly entered was duly passed and Raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Bro Andrew Murray was made a Full Member of the Lodge Paid his Fee of 5/- to the RWM.

St James Operative 97  Bro Alexander Ritchie of St James Lodge No 97, was on a Petition being presented to the RWM was unanimously Elected an Honorary Member of the Lodge.

The RWM after a few remarks on none admission of the Celtic Lodge Deputation, on the night of St Andrew's Festival were on address to be presented to the Right Hon the Earl of Rothes Grand Master Mason of Scotland.

Which was unanimously agreed to by Brethren present and the RWM received full power to express the same and forward it to the Grand Master at High Twelve the Lodge was closed.

 

9th December 1840

Copy of a letter from the Right Honourable the Earl of Rothes Grand Master Mason of Scotland to the RWM.

RWM Wardens Office Bearers of the Celtic Lodge in reply to the letter addressed to The Earl of Rothes.

The Lodge Celtic of Edinburgh and Leith No 291 regarding the want of accommodation in the assembly rooms on the night of the Grand Convivial and also congratulating His Lordship on accession to the High Office of Grand Master Mason of Scotland. Leslie House. Reply from His Lordship.

 

RWM Sir and Brothers,

 

I have to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of the 4th enclosing an address from the RW Master. RWM and Office Bearers of the Celtic Lodge for which allow to request that you and they will accept of my warmest and sincere thanks.

No rue could have regretted more than I did the circumstances of the Celtic Lodge with so very numerous a respectable a Deputation retiring from the Assembly Rooms before the commencement of the happiness of the Meeting, but I really do think that had you waited a few minutes longer,

Sufficient Accommodation would have been provided for your Brethren and I am certain it was my wish as well as that of my Office Bearers to make all possible effort that every Brother should have been accommodated as there appeared plenty of space for so doing.

Though the inverse of the Members at this meeting over former years was a matter highly flattering to me individually yet I cannot help expressing my unfeigned regret, that one of the the Meeting's which

I have ever had the pleasure to preside over, should have been clouded by the Idea that your very respectable Lodge was precluded from taking a part in it.

 

To The RW Master                                                            I have the Honour to be

Of the Celtic Lodge                                                           RW Sir and Brother

Edinburgh and Leith                                                          Yours Fraternally

                                                                                             Earl of Rothes

Minutes by R Banks Secretary                                          Grand Master Mason of

                                                                                            Scotland.

11th December 1840

The Lodge being duly opened by RWM, he then read a letter from the most worshipful Grand Master Mason in answer to the one sent to him which was favourably received by the Brethren.

The nominations were then put forward for the annual election on the 28th December 1840.

 

25th December 1840 

A Petition of Captain Thomas Falkner was presented and being duly signed he was admitted Entered Apprentice. The Lodge was closed in due form at High Twelve. 

 

28th December 1840

Celtic Lodge Turf Hotel the lodge was opened by RWM Brother Donaldson.

Petitions were presented in favour of:-

Mr William Wright a Hatter New Buildings North Bridge Edinburgh was entered passed then raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Mr Robert Synnot 15 South College Street Edinburgh was entered passed then raised to the Sublime Degree of a Master Mason.

Brother Captain Thomas Falkner Merchant Service who was entered was then passed to the Fellow Craft Degree. The Lodge was Closed in Due form.

 

28th December 1840 Continued.

Irish Celtic Cross  This was the evening a Committee Meeting of the Celtic Lodge at the Regent Hotel.

The Lodge having been duly opened by the RWM Brother William Donaldson, the Bye Laws of the Lodge were read by the Secretary.

 

The RWM then proceeded to elect the Office Bearers for the ensuing year.

The Following Brethren were unanimously chosen to the respective Offices:-

 

RWM

William Donaldson

Past Master

Alexander Aitken

Depute Master

Andrew Murray

Substitute Master

Alexander Shaw

Senior Warden

James Allen

Junior Warden

Morris Leon

Treasurer

Peter MacKinlay

Secretary

Robert Banks

Senior Deacon

William Wright

Junior Deacon

James Black

Bible Bearer

Vacant

Chaplain

Charles Kidd

Grand Steward

George Bathgate

Inner Guard

Vacant

Tyler

John McLaren

The Committee:-

Bro John Hyne

Bro John Jack

Bro William Anderson

Bro John Edgar

Bro William Hunter

Bro George Donaldson

Bro John Jardine

Brother Jack proposed a vote of thanks to last year's Office Bearers for their continued Support, which was carried by loud acclamations.

 

The RWM in the Name of the Celtic Lodge Presented to:-

Brother Charles Kid, Chaplain, a Grand Lodge Diploma and a tablet of Chas’o Silver for his service to the Lodge Brother Charles Kid from the Celtic Brethren of the Celtic Lodge of Edinburgh and Leith, for his efficient and gratuitous Services as their Chaplain during a number of years December 1840 by William Donaldson RWM.

 

After a very unanimous Election the Brethren to the amount of 50 dined together and after supper held a convivial for the purpose of receiving and sending Deputations to Sister Lodges.

Two Deputations were sent out headed by Brother Aitken PM Br Jack.

When after visiting of the Sister Lodges in Edinburgh, They returned and gave a very satisfactory account of the continued prosperity of the Sister Lodges, and the very handsome manner in which they had been received as Deputations from the Celtic Lodge.

 

Deputations from the following Lodges visited the Celtic Lodge this evening:-

Mary Chapel-1  Mary's Chapel Lodge No 1 Headed by Brother Buie

alt  St David's Lodge No 36 Headed by Brother Clark

St James Operative 97  St James Lodge No 97 Headed by Brother McPherson

Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151  Edinburgh Defensive Band No 151 Headed by Brother Williamson

Roman Eagle Crest No 160  Roman Eagle Lodge No 160 Headed by Brother Burns

alt  St Andrews Lodge No 48 Headed by Brother Cowley

St Stephens No 145  St Stephens Lodge No 145 Headed by Brother Michie

Conongate Kilwinning No 2  Canongate Kilwinning Lodge No 2 Headed by Brother Lloyd

Journeyman Masons No 8  Journeyman Masons Lodge No 8 Headed by Brother Kerr

Grand Lodge New Zeland  Brother Cummins Lloyd of Canongare Kilwinning and Grand Master of New Zealand was made an Honorary Member of the Celtic Lodge. The evening was spent in delightful harmony and Brethren being with each other in Brotherly concord, the songs, the Toasts, and at high twelve the lodge was closed in due form.